Question Azur 540a And Coda 7s - Bad match?

moss125

Novice Member
Hi all, I'd really appreciate some advice with regards to my audio setup. A while back I bought some Kef Coda 7s and paired them with a (rather vintage) Technics SU-X102 amp and Teac CDP. I was very happy with the sound, but recently decided to treat myself and upgrade the equipment. I went for A Cambridge Audio Azur 540A and associated CD player, Tuner etc. Although they're a few years old, I'd expected them to sound decent enough, but they just don't seem to suit the Codas at all. I'm not someone who looks for massive amounts of low end, but to me the sound just seems flat and dull, unless the bass adjuster is fully cranked. I'm no audio expert, but are my speakers too small for the amp? Or just not a suitable combination? The speakers are quite close to the wall, but I wouldn't have expected that to make a massive difference? Maybe I've just been spoiled bass-wise by the Technics, but the CA just seems so flat in comparison. Thanks for your time, I've attached some photos of the prev / new amps.
IMG_0066.JPG
IMG_0068.JPG

muljao

Kef speakers are designed to work vertical. Might make a difference

I'm not familiar with ps but different amps can def give different sounds quality and amount of bass so wouldn't surprise me if the technics worked better even though it is older

moss125

Novice Member
Kef speakers are designed to work vertical. Might make a difference

I'm not familiar with ps but different amps can def give different sounds quality and amount of bass so wouldn't surprise me if the technics worked better even though it is older
Thanks, that's interesting to know, I'll give it a go. I suppose, as you said, the Technics may just suit them better.

David Alexander