1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ax5I problem can other owners please try

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by philinman, Mar 10, 2004.

  1. philinman

    philinman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    406
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    shropshire
    Ratings:
    +4
    If you i have cd playing through my amp and my wife doesnt turn the the amp to cd from dvd the amp puts the music through effect mode but at a volume of -10 the amp cuts out is this normal or is there a problem with it, its fine if you have it on source direct (2 channel)any ideas before i speak to my dealer :confused: :confused:
     
  2. mrtonywade

    mrtonywade
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    the imputs are differant, if its not switched to cd from dvd, nothing should happen, no volume, no nothing, hows the amp wired on the dvd and cd
     
  3. kevtotty

    kevtotty
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. Apollo11

    Apollo11
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    536
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Hadleigh, Suffolk
    Ratings:
    +36
    That doesn't sound at all good to me, when you say 'the amp cuts out', do you mean it swiches off ?, if so it's going into protection mode so I suspect you have a problem with your speaker connections, I am about to wire my AX5i for bi amping today so will see if it improves quality.
     
  5. philinman

    philinman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    406
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    shropshire
    Ratings:
    +4
    on cd its fine its fine its only if you have a cd playing with effect on as in through all the 5.1 setup using direct source ect is fine with cds
     
  6. philinman

    philinman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    406
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    shropshire
    Ratings:
    +4
    My dvd player is connected witht he fire wire lead and i have some phonos from the dvd player to the amp for cd playback
    if i play a cd in the dvd player and leave the amp on dvd mode the sound comes through no problem but if you increase the volume to -10 the amp goes into protection mode.
    just wanted to know if this was normal its not a hassel for as i always select cd on the amp to listen to cds in stereo mode direct
    just thought it was a bit odd :confused: :confused:
     
  7. philinman

    philinman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    406
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    shropshire
    Ratings:
    +4
  8. Apollo11

    Apollo11
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    536
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Hadleigh, Suffolk
    Ratings:
    +36
    Is the cd connected by digital output of via analogue sockets ?
     
  9. philinman

    philinman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    406
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    shropshire
    Ratings:
    +4
    biamping my m5 fromts makes them sound great they sound about 100 times better than they did with my old amp well worth it imho ...:clap:
     
  10. Apollo11

    Apollo11
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    536
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Hadleigh, Suffolk
    Ratings:
    +36
    I still haven't wired my speakers for bi amping yet, will do so this evening, I hope it doesn't stress the amp more as don't have a lot of ventilation space above it and the manual says you need at least 60cm above - I think that's a little extreme but don't want it overheating.
     
  11. philinman

    philinman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    406
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    shropshire
    Ratings:
    +4
    Analogue phono leads
     
  12. Apollo11

    Apollo11
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    536
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Hadleigh, Suffolk
    Ratings:
    +36
    I just tried to replicate the problem on my Ax5 but couldn't hear anything if playing cd and have dvd selected.

    Strange one me thinks.
     
  13. Apollo11

    Apollo11
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    536
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Hadleigh, Suffolk
    Ratings:
    +36
    I notice you have the Mission M5as, what do you think to it ? I have the same and find it really annoying that the power on doesn't stay activated for longer, superb build quality though.
     

Share This Page

Loading...