AX5 does not do video up-switching!?!

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Alex-1701, Apr 27, 2004.

  1. Alex-1701

    Alex-1701
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just discovered that if I put compasite in but componant out, I won't get an image.

    It may not sound like much, but I think it's a big difference from the Denon 3805, which does do video up-conversion.

    I think this means I'm going to go for the Denon.

    Now I need to decide what DVD player to go for - I quite like the look of some of the new progressive scan HD DVD recorders, but don't how good they are.
     
  2. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +482
    The AX10 does.
     
  3. Alex-1701

    Alex-1701
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes I know, but it's more than double the price.
     
  4. Wasabi

    Wasabi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,188
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SBC (Swedish Born Chinese)/lived in UK since 96, C
    Ratings:
    +32
    And so does Yamaha 1400 & 2400.

    Wasabi.
     
  5. Alex-1701

    Alex-1701
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I have now gone ahead and ordered the Denon, and I hope to be very happy with my decision. I have also ordered a set of PMC speakers, and the combination really out to "sing".

    Still trying to make my mind up about the DVD player (probably the 2900) and projector (either Panny 500 or Z2).
     
  6. NonPayingMember

    NonPayingMember
    Previously Liam @ Prog AV

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,523
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +830
    The new Harman AVR430 and AVR630 do too... You will be very happy with the Denon though :)

    2900 makes a perfect partner too, for PJ decision check this mini review out, should make decision much easier

    http://www.progressive-av.com/projectors/epson_dreamio_emp-tw10.htm

    Doesn't take into account Epson TW200 though (which is a damn fine machine too)
     
  7. Alex-1701

    Alex-1701
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow ... that looks good. But I am a bit concerned about the resolution. 854 x 480 doesn't sound very good.
     
  8. NonPayingMember

    NonPayingMember
    Previously Liam @ Prog AV

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,523
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +830
  9. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,276
    you are thinking about changing your desired receiver over a cable output? Is that right? If so you have lost me here, Good quality cable a la Van damm or similar has five / six cores anyway and you therefore don't need the dreded up conversions. A single bundle can have component, SVideo and composite! Cost pence as opposed to £1k or what ever the AX is now

    am I missing something here?
     
  10. Alex-1701

    Alex-1701
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes sure, I know it must sound a bit funny, but I have been struggling for the past few weeks trying to decide between the Denon and the Pioneer and really couldn't put a sheet of paper between them. Then I did a shootout listening to them both side by side, and slightly preffered the warmer sound of the Denon, but thought that the Pioneer had slightly more gismos, but then discovered that it didn't do video up conversion, which swung it for me. So there we are.

    So now, when I change my source on the amp, I won't also have to change the input on the projector. I know it's only a small thing, but it's about the only way that I can slip them.
     
  11. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,276
    Okay. so long as you know it is just a convenience thing and not a quality issue. Both receivers are great and you would probably be happy with either :)
     
  12. Alex-1701

    Alex-1701
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the thought BeeKeeper.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice