Awful internet speeds - Sky to blame?

Discussion in 'Sky Broadband' started by sstobbs, Feb 17, 2007.

  1. sstobbs

    sstobbs
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +9
    Hi

    I've been a loyal Zen customer over the last 2 years, and made the move to ADSL in November after being on a fixed broadband service - the lure of 8mb seemed too appealing!

    However from December, I've had problems with my line speed dropping to a whopping 129 kb/s. It has been as high as 4200kb/s, but something intermitendly keeps hitting my line and it gradually drops and it will then gradually creep back up to faster speeds about a week later. I spoke to Zen and they claimed that something last hit the line at midnight on 15/2 (it has also happened about 8 other times this year) - I wasn't using the computer or on the phone, so could Sky be to blame? Has anyone experienced problems with Sky affecting broadband speed?

    The master phone line has a filter with Sky and the telephone (both plugged into the filter!), and upstairs and extension box with another filter which the modem is plugged into.

    FYI my latest stats are:

    Upstream 448
    Downstream 4736
    US Margin 23
    DS Margin 9

    Help does anyone know if Sky could be to blame or any ideal how to get my speed problems fixed?
     
  2. Member 79251

    Member 79251
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    13,418
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    ?
    Ratings:
    +2,187
    Welcome,

    I have the same problem with Demon and every now and again my connection will just drop. I just believed it was something to do with my usb modem. I have the same setup as you.

    How does the extension box upstairs connect ?
     
  3. robocop

    robocop
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Old Detroit a.k.a. Chippenham. Wilts
    Ratings:
    +23
  4. Muratcan

    Muratcan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    135
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
  5. sstobbs

    sstobbs
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +9
    Thanks for the replies

    Pixelpixel - I believe the extension box upstairs just takes a feed from the master socket (not certain though?). I've then got a filter on this and the modem plugged into the filter

    Robocop - Had a read through and ran the Optimiser. My speeds have increased from 4736 to 5056 (every little helps!). However within the forum it states "optimising your TCP/IP settings will make no material difference to your connection stability". I think my problem is the connection stability. Any idea how to find out what is making my connection unstable?

    Cheers
     
  6. robocop

    robocop
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Old Detroit a.k.a. Chippenham. Wilts
    Ratings:
    +23

Share This Page

Loading...