1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Awesome Mains Distribution block, and it's DIY

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Building DIY' started by StooMonster, May 20, 2003.

  1. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    Components:
    MK Pinnacle Trunking (colour Platinum Supreme) x 2 metres
    MK Pinnacle Single End Caps (colour Platinum Supreme) x 1 set of two
    MK Prestige Mounting Frame x 6
    MK Steel Double Socket Boxes x 6
    MK 50mm Long Nickel Plated Electrical Screws x 12
    MK 3 Terminal block (30 amp) x 1
    MK Logic Plus double unswitched sockets x 6 (hifi SuperSockets to Russ Andrews)
    Eupen GNLM 05/04 x 2 metres
    Kimber Earth Weave x 8 metres
    ScrewFix Earth Spike and Clamp x 1
    ScrewFix Cable Grommits x 2
    DeoxIT x 1
    ProGold x 1
    MK Tough Plug silver plater x 1
    MK 13 amp fuse silver plated x 1

    Summary
    It's a bit big because I wanted six double sockets. MK Pinnacle Trunking is excellent and can be doubled up -- perhaps the inspiration for Russ Andrews' PowerBlock -- but I wanted it in a line. I didn't realise quite how much cable would be required and should've ordered 3 metres of Eupen GNML 05/04 wire, as I only have about 15cm between the plug and the box.

    Eupen GNLM 05/04 is excellent wire, but difficult to work with here as it's wires are so fat. Particularly difficult to get into plug, but once "worked out" solution it fits perfectly.

    Pictures:
    [​IMG]
    Behind this white panel is the 3 Terminal block
    [​IMG]
    From the other end
    [​IMG]
    Here's the whole thing

    Sources:
    MK electrical dealer -- all that trunking and sockets
    Audusa -- lovely Eupen wire
    Russ Andrews -- Kimber and sprays
    ScrewFix -- cheap bits
    Me -- silver plated MK Tough plug and fuse

    StooMonster
     
  2. RAMiAM

    RAMiAM
    Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Messages:
    481
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK, Kent (nr Ashford)
    Ratings:
    +9
    It's the size that counts :D

    Quality build m8.

    I did notice that you lead is captive, which could be a benefit, but I also noticed that the captive lead looks really short.
    Are you sure it's long enough to actually plug the thing in to the wall.
    Given the size of the beast you would need to have the wall socket in just the right place.
    Also looking at the height of your skirting board......

    RAMiAM
     
  3. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    Blood, sweat and tears went into that build, cheers mate!

    Captive lead is benefit here as less connections to power. It's really short because I ran out of cable in my design. :blush: Didn't realise that I would need nearly two metres of cable for 1.2m long distribution box. :eek:

    However, it is right size (just). In the living room (this photo is in dining room) the sockets are mounted on the skirting board not on the wall, and the cable is exactly the correct length. :smoke:

    I am going to do a smaller one next, maybe even back to back just like a Russ Andrews PowerBlock.

    StooMonster

    Edited length, it's 1.2m long.
     
  4. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    Looks damn cool m8y.

    Thought about hard wiring it into a cooker switched outlet?
     
  5. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    The block will be going into single MK Logic Plus unswitched socket.

    Don't know how much current the Eupen GNML 05/04 's 4mm OFC, ferrite coated conductors can handle -- the sheild's drain wire is 2.5mm -- but I bet it's a lot.

    When I eventually get hi-fi sockets installed on dedicated spur -- not a day too far away -- I may well follow your advice. In fact, even hard-wire the block into the spur and forgo switch; if you're allowed to do such a thing. :D

    StooMonster
     
  6. themadhippy

    themadhippy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    standard 4mm flex is rated at 32A ,however the limiting factor will be the size of the earthing conductor,if its 2.5mm then you'll have to derate the maximum current rating to 25A.
    As long as the protective device (fuse) protecting the circuit is equal too or less than the current rating of the cable.
     
  7. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    Thanks TheMadHippy -- the earth is 4mm too. It's the shield's drain wire that is 2.5mm -- there are four wires all together (3x4mm and 1x2.5mm). So I guess that it's 32amp capable.

    It's very impressive wire, check it out...
    http://www.audusa.com/eupenpage.htm

    When I get my dedicated spurs, and if I am flush at the time, I may use this cable from consumer unit to sockets too.

    StooMonster
     
  8. Tim Cooper

    Tim Cooper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,773
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Laindon Essex
    Ratings:
    +96
    Hi Stoomonster,
    Looks great mate......um......err......how much to make:D
    Fanks
    Tim.:smashin:
     
  9. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    Trunking has minimum length orders, this MK Pinnacle is 2 metres @ £60; end caps at £10 per pair; mount frames at £3 each; MK Logic Plus unswitched double sockets £3 each (or £20 each from Russ Andrews); plus other MK connectors etc probably bit more than £10 -- therefore approximately £130 for trunking and sockets.

    Mine is probably over the top and I spent £120 on cable, one could spend to budget. Trunking is wide enough to accept pretty much anything, you could even use expensive Kimber mains cable or cheap single 4mm cores.

    Either way it's cheaper than a Russ Andrews PowerBlock, with more sockets, and I recon it outperforms it too.

    MK Electric have many types of trunking and in 180 colours, much of which is cheaper than Pinnacle which is their most expensive. However, if you still like Pinnacle they do ready made up units too. http://www.mkelectric.co.uk/ or ring them up and get a free catalogue.

    StooMonster
     
  10. CodeThief

    CodeThief
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    Did you ever make up a 4 socket distribution block like the Russ Andrews one?

    Dave
     
  11. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    Not yet, it's another project for my hi-fi in my sunroom; but I still have enough truncking for it.

    After a few months of using this distribution block, I can't begin to explain how pleased I am with it. Coupled with a Russ Andrews SuperPurifier with MegaClamp (don't ask) it has been a fabulous upgrade to my entire AV suite; everything from CD audio to plasma PQ has greatly benefited.

    Can it get any better still? All but my plasma are now either Mark Grant's silver power cables or ChrisVH ones I made up; and I think they are both very good indeed.

    I'm currently planning on replacing the final (plasma) powerlead, and seriously considering using the AUDUSA-Eupen GNLM cable again because it's so impressive, however, the plasma only needs the 05/2.5 not the fat 05/04 I used in this block. But I'm torn again Mark Grant's excellent power cables.

    Anyone else been inspired by my playing and gone for making the best possible mains distribution block?

    StooMonster
     
  12. pemberto

    pemberto
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    500
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Huntingdon
    Ratings:
    +32
    StooMonster,
    Thanks for answering my many questions on your build.

    The only thing I am going to change is the cable type. I plan to use Van den Hul’s MainsStream BS Hybrid power cord.

    Once I have mastered this I might try making a smaller version using MK Premier trunking. It’s a bit smaller, but this depends on how many brownie points I have with the wife.....

    Paul
     
  13. pemberto

    pemberto
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    500
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Huntingdon
    Ratings:
    +32
    StooMonster,
    Thanks for the PM. I managed to build one of these using the VDH cable and what a nightmare, the cable is a monster, but well worth it.

    I still have a few more to build, but I have moved on to the next project "Crestron"

    Thanks
    Pemberto
     
  14. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,362
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,477
    Have you thought of putting RF chokes/filters aboard ?

    Mike.
     
  15. mp101

    mp101
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I know its a while since you made this, but did you use the earth wire in the Eupen to earth the pins in the sockets? or did you just use the Russ Andrews earth weave and spike that?

    Thanks

    Marc
     

Share This Page

Loading...