1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Awaiting Pany PWD6 n Cantons. Please can you recomend a good amp £250 max

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Mickey123, Dec 10, 2004.

  1. Mickey123

    Mickey123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Geordie thro n thro!
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hi everyone again :)

    After spending nearly a week constantly glued to this forum with £2k to spend and trying to squeeze the best system out of it possible I have decided to take EVERYONE's advice and go for the following from AV-Sales...

    Pany PWD6 Plasma with Canton 10MX2's Speakers.

    I am now over budget :rolleyes: despite the fantastic prices offered by AV-sales yet have to buy an amp. I also need RGB inputs to go between my DVD,Xbox and Video.
    I have heard great things about the Pioneer C402 amp (amp must be in black) for it's price and know it has 3 in to 1 out RGB scarts.

    Can anyone think of a better buy for around £200 max?? :confused:

    Pro's and con's to the 402 please and anyother recomendations.

    Many thanks for all your help so far. Im taking delivery next week and wiil keep you all posted:):):)

    Regards

    Mickey
     
  2. Blu Ray

    Blu Ray
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    495
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Chorley, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +12
    Have you already ordered the Canton's? Reason I'm asking is that their is HUGE savings to be made on the Cantons direct from Germany, so this would extend your budget. There's a long thread on this in the Speakers section.
     
  3. Mickey123

    Mickey123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Geordie thro n thro!
    Ratings:
    +6
    No mate I havent allredy ordered. Waiting to pay today. Ill look into ordering direct. Thanks for the tip.

    What do you make of the canton's? Are there the best there is for the cash?

    Thanks

    Mickey
     
  4. hornet

    hornet
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    325
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hayes Middlesex
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hello mate I have the same combination "Pany PWD6 Plasma with Canton 10MX2's"
    Very good choice.
    All I can say about the amp choice is to maybe find a one of the many new sub £300.00 AV amps and have a listen to them:
    Something like the following
    Denon AVR1705: around £219.00
    AVR1905: around £249.00
    Pioneer:VSXD814: around £239.00
    Sony:STRDB795: around £239.00
    Yamaha:RXV450: around £239.00

    If it was my money I would look at getting either a discontinued or even used/ex-display Amp, of a higher spec to the ones listed above for the same or even less money.

    Hope this helps.
     
  5. Mickey123

    Mickey123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Geordie thro n thro!
    Ratings:
    +6
    Thanks hornet. Im gona check out you recomendations later. Have they all the SCART in/out connections I need?

    Blu Ray - I have been in touch with Canton (germany) and they don't sell direct to th public. Have you a link so I can this follow up?


    Thanks

    Mickey
     
  6. hornet

    hornet
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    325
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hayes Middlesex
    Ratings:
    +7
    They all should have component in and out switching, and S-video in/out
    I would connect the DVD to the panny direct via RGB/component providing you have the right board? and run the rest through the AMP.
     
  7. Mickey123

    Mickey123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Geordie thro n thro!
    Ratings:
    +6
    Cant afford the right board hornet. It comes standard with RGB scart board. another one is £120 nearly half the price of the amp!!!

    Im all ready over budget and over girlfriend patents :rolleyes:
    Hence why I need an amp/ quinto all in one.


    Mickey
     
  8. hornet

    hornet
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    325
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hayes Middlesex
    Ratings:
    +7
    it should be cool to run your kit through the amp and later when funds allow get your self one of the RGB-VGA converters for your DVD to enable you to get the best out of your DVD and screen.

    What DVD do you Have?
     
  9. Blu Ray

    Blu Ray
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    495
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Chorley, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +12
    Mickey, you don't buy direct from Canton, but rather thru suppliers there. teknikdirekt.de is one (they do credit cards) or tenspot.de is another. The canton thread shows quite a few :)
     
  10. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,217
    for a black RGB scart amp PIo is the only choice but you can run Xbox via component and DVD via component (suitable player, most TBH) and VCR via composite as its only composite output any way unless you have a S-VHS deck
     
  11. Mickey123

    Mickey123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Geordie thro n thro!
    Ratings:
    +6
    Thanks Horny dragon

    I understand what you mean re RGB scart and know xbox is capable of high def with the right cable and DVD the same.
    If I were to go that route though I would have to buy two more boards for the pany and Im allready over budget mate (arn't we all :rolleyes: )

    Im hoping the pioneer amp will be a good starting block to get me off the ground linking eveything as cheaply as poss via RGB scart.
    I dont want the pioneer however if it ain't worth the money.

    You sound like you know what your talking about. What do you make of the Pioneer amp fella? Bearing in mind Im new to this :cool:

    Thanks for you advice above.

    Mickey
     
  12. stevelup

    stevelup
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,405
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +1,035
    Hi

    Have a look at the Yamaha RXV450 (£239 from Superfi).

    This has a global audio delay which is a godsend for most Plasma users.

    Steve
     
  13. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,217
    i love the pio AMP for a basic 5.1 set-up with a panel plasma PW7 et al....... works well with the little canton CD1 package........... Panny do some similar amp tho i prefer the pio.. and its worth £200 a quintro is £70 so take that off and amp is £130 equivalent.......
     
  14. Mickey123

    Mickey123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Geordie thro n thro!
    Ratings:
    +6
    Thanks everyone :thumbsup:

    Ive ordered the pioneer and will let you all know how I get on

    Thanks

    Pany PW6
    Canton 10mx2's
    pioneer 402

    Must say a big thank you to Andrew for AV-Sales. Got the cantons as part of the deal including 33M of speaker cable for £315 - Nice one, Ill be back (arnie voice :laugh: )

    Mickey
     
  15. Mango Bob

    Mango Bob
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    513
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mickey mate, I feel sorry telling you this, but if you can cancel your order at AV-Sales seriously have a look at german websites for Canton speakers.

    The MX/II set of speakers is EUR200 in germany and the CD1 set is EUR300. Take a look at www.tenspot.de and search for Canton. Do a search here for Canton and germany - we really, really, really are ripped off in Britain for these speakers. There are a fair number of people that have successfully ordered from tenspot.
     
  16. Kier

    Kier
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Reading, UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    On a brighter note, you'll be happy with your Pioneer C402. I ordered one for a friend today as part of the HC-53s (which is an absolutely amazing system considering I paid just £351 for it including delivery!)

    While the C402 sounded a little empty compared to my AX5Ai, considering that it cost a fifth of the price I was very impressed.

    RGB quality through the scart sockets was very good too - no detectable difference between a direct connection (via RGB scart) from my DV-868AVi to the plasma screen and a connection with the C402 in the middle. Very impressive.

    Enjoy!
     
  17. Mickey123

    Mickey123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Geordie thro n thro!
    Ratings:
    +6
    :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:
    Mango Bob

    WOW!!!!!!


    150 quid for speakers that cost £350 here!!!!????!!!!!


    Rip off britain strikes again!!!!!


    Thanks mate. I cant work out the PnP page because I can't read German but it's going to work out to 200 quid max!!!!

    That totally blows away any other compitition.


    Cheers Mango Bob. You've saved me £100+


    :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:
     
  18. Mickey123

    Mickey123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Geordie thro n thro!
    Ratings:
    +6
    ....It's not just the speakers

    Have you seen the diff in prices for the stands????


    There £70 here and £18 in Germany!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Its worth buying them in bulk and selling them on Ebay!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Mickey

    Thanks again Mango Bob
    :thumbsup: :rotfl: :rotfl: :clap: :rotfl: :thumbsup:
     
  19. Mickey123

    Mickey123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Geordie thro n thro!
    Ratings:
    +6
    Sorry but we can't belive this here

    £170 DELIVERED for the canton 10mx2's!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    :D :D :rotfl: :rotfl: :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :hiya: :hiya: :laugh: :clap: :clap:
     
  20. Mango Bob

    Mango Bob
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    513
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Glad to hear it mate, pay it forward if you spot someone else threatening to buy Cantons in the UK :D .
     
  21. Xstyle

    Xstyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,481
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +146
    Pay It Forward
    Great Film!!

    Any of these kind of deals to be had with Pioneer kit?
    i.e. 868avi and ax5ai?
     
  22. Mango Bob

    Mango Bob
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    513
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
  23. CatManDo

    CatManDo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,786
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    South Yorks
    Ratings:
    +248
    I am tempted to go for the Pioneer C502 amp because the scart switching is attractive.

    A few people have commented that its a little empty compared to its bigger counterparts.

    I am looking to replace my Sherwood 6095, and I am using the Kef 2005.2 eggs.

    Do you think this would be a good upgrade?
     
  24. Kier

    Kier
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Reading, UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    The Pioneer will equal or better your Sherwood sonically, and the Scart switching is immensely cool.
     
  25. Mickey123

    Mickey123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Geordie thro n thro!
    Ratings:
    +6
    Got the pioneer mate in black!!! Wanted to buck the trend of silver so specially ordered it.

    Cant open any of them untill christmas though Plasma inc :rolleyes:

    I'm 31 you know!!! You'd think waiting for Christmas had long gone ;)


    Mickey
     
  26. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,739
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,075
    I'm lucky, the wife let me open all my xmas pressies before xmas so that I could set it all up in time for xmas day. At least that's what I told her :laugh:
     
  27. Mickey123

    Mickey123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Geordie thro n thro!
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hello everyone and Merry Christmas :clap:

    An update to this thread as promised.

    Opened PW6 and pioneer 402 AV reciver for Chrismas (They have sat wrapped in bedroom for a month now :rolleyes: :rolleyes: )

    All going well on setting up then I noticed on setting up the SCART on the PW6 in slot 2 I could ony get a black and white picture!!! Eeeek :eek: Plugged SCART as it was from PW6 and into old TV that displayed colour proving it the PW6 and not any of the other new stuff.
    Imagine my face!!!! :mad:
    Anyhow, re fitted SCART board to slot 1 and it worked fine ???? :confused:
    Any ideas :confused: :confused:

    Next problem

    Pioneer 402. After much new speaker cable cutting and setting up, got everything working.
    Now for the big sound switch on - Hellooo bass, anyone heard any bass helllooooooo?????

    Nope - No bass!!-
    After much tiny small print manual reading I find the 402 has no means to power a Sub and you have to have an Active sub. Is this true??? Gutted!!

    Anyhow guys and girls, thanks for all your help in making this choice. Apart from the above teething probs (no colour from port 2 on the PW6 does worry me though) Eveything is fine.

    I hope you all had a great Christamas. :thumbsup:


    Mickey
     
  28. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,739
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,075
    Merry xmas Mickey! I'm sure the wait was worth it :smashin:

    Check your tv settings on the OSD. Go into your setup menu and see what is being output on slot 2 (i.e. whether it is RGB/s-video/composite). This may have an effect on why you're seeing a b&w screen.
     
  29. stevelup

    stevelup
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,405
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +1,035
    Hi

    This is true of any AV amp. I'm not aware of a single model out there with built in amplfication for a sub.

    If you have a passive sub with built in crossover, try the following:-

    Set your front left and right speakers to large.
    Set the rest to small.
    Disable to he subwoofer.

    The amp will then redirect all the bass and sub bass to the front left and right. You can then wire your front speakers via the sub.

    Regards,

    Steve
     
  30. stevelup

    stevelup
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,405
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +1,035
    Hi

    My SCART board is in slot 2 and it's fine. Perhaps it just wasn't seated properly?

    Steve
     

Share This Page

Loading...