AVR300 + DV79 for Dummies

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Janibrewski, Oct 20, 2005.

Tags:
  1. Janibrewski

Janibrewski
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm new at this.

I have an AVR300 and DV79.

I have connected the two via a coax optical cable.

Is it advisable to also connect via an analogue cable, even though I don't plan to have a second "zone" nor use a VCR?

I've read that using the analogue connection will use the DACs in the DV79, instead of the AVR300 - is that a good thing? Once I add the analogue cable - how would I select between using the two?

Last - is Neo6 Music only for multi-channel music? If I want to listen to 2 channel, music, is "Stereo PCM" the best option? That's what I'm doing today.

:lease:

THANK YOU in advance,
    Janibrewski

2. WRG

WRG

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Janibrewski, I use Neo 6 when using all my regular CD's and it creates a soundfield using the LRC and additionally it sends a very faint signal to your rear surrounds. Kinda converts the 2ch to 3 and 1/2. Nice mix using the left, right, and center mains, and just a less signal in strength to the rears. I love Neo 6 with the CD33, actually it dominates thie format. Once in a while I use 2ch direct, not too often anymore though. Multichannel uses the 5 discretes channels and one for the sub. Though there are some very good DVD-As out there, I love using the Neo 6 for plain CD's with a 5.1 setup :smashin:

3. ginaandlee

ginaandlee

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    For best stereo (IMO), connect the L&R analog out on the DV79 to the CD in on the AVR300. Keep the digital connection for DVD or NEO9 use, use the CD and stereo direct for 2 channel music. The DACS in your DV79 should be better than the AVR300 when playing stereo music, but you can compare to the PCM input and see what you prefer.

4. Janibrewski

Janibrewski
    Standard Member