1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AVR300 - Caliberating System

Discussion in 'Arcam Owners' Forum' started by technojunkie, Mar 14, 2005.

  1. technojunkie

    technojunkie
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have a PAL DVE DVD disk that I am trying to use to caliberate the speaker levels (with an SPL meter) on my AVR300.

    However, I have found it impossible to adjust the level of each channel without hearing the AVR300 test tone. Is there anyway of turning the AVR300 internal test tone off so that I can adjust the levels and hear the DVE disk ? :lease:
     
  2. ANDY_DUTTON

    ANDY_DUTTON
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +87
    Unfortunately not. What you need to do is play the disk as a normal DVD then note down the changes you need to make. Go into the menu and make the changes ignoring the test tone. Come out again and play the DVD to check the changes have worked.

    Regards,
    Andrew
     
  3. technojunkie

    technojunkie
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thankyou Andy. What a pain !
     
  4. rover2002

    rover2002
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    762
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Ratings:
    +30
    Thats just sad man. . . . very sad.
    The AVR300 is so overpriced its beyond funny!
     
  5. Exirion

    Exirion
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    148
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Eindhoven
    Ratings:
    +6
    That's insultive. If you're happier with a feature-bloated mainstream receiver, buy one of those. I agree that some features could be added rather easily, but the Arcam is unchallenged in its class for other criteria.
     
  6. rover2002

    rover2002
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    762
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Ratings:
    +30
    Being able to set the sound with avia/dve is not a 'feature' it should be a basic funtion that i'm able to perform without haveing to do the above!
    As for 'insult' ? yea your dam right its an insult, at over 900 quid you would expect it to have these basic 'Funtions', would you not?
    Will.
     
  7. Exirion

    Exirion
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    148
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Eindhoven
    Ratings:
    +6
    I upgraded from a NAD T-163 to an Arcam AVP700; with the NAD having more features. Still I'm damn happy I did the upgrade because the Arcam sounds so much better. You can't have it all.
     
  8. Crustyloafer

    Crustyloafer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9,501
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1,237
    Yes you can. You can use the 'TRM' key on the CR80 remote to bring up the individual speaker levels the front display of AVR300 and adjust them on the fly whilst listening to the DVD soundtrack.

    Rover2000 can also shut up now too as it DOES have this feature.
     
  9. rover2002

    rover2002
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    762
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Ratings:
    +30
    You should have stopped at post 8.Why you felt the need to make another telling me to shut up? If you don't like my posts then don't read them,OK? ok :)
    Will

    PS. TRM does the job, many thx.
     
  10. Crustyloafer

    Crustyloafer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9,501
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1,237
    I meant to just edit my post with the additional comment. I meant it in a light hearted way, there was no offence intended. I don't think there is any need to start using expletives :thumbsup:

    PS: I'm glad this feature is useful to you.
     
  11. LFCRules

    LFCRules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,670
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +188
    MOD COMMENT:

    Will (Rover2002), I've editted your post, please do not post in this manner again.

    Thanks

    Andy
     
  12. Dom996

    Dom996
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,061
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +29
    Nice one Crusty. :smashin: I was sure you could do it and remember doing it on older AVRs. I unfortunately haven't been in the shop all week to try it out.
     
  13. John Robert

    John Robert
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does that make permanent changes to the levels or are they lost when the unit is powered down?

    John
     
  14. Crustyloafer

    Crustyloafer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9,501
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1,237
    It makes permanent changes to the levels. It is an easy way to make adjustments whilst listening to a soundtrack. I usually use it to fine tune the subwoofer level as this is difficult to get just right using a pressure meter only.

    The Arcam DV79 and DV29 player have this feature for adjusting their onobard levels whilst listening to a DVD-A disc which is also useful.
     

Share This Page

Loading...