AVR250 - Direct Mode

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by roger hayhurst, Feb 22, 2014.

Tags:
  1. roger hayhurst

    roger hayhurst
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Although my AVR250 can do all kinds of complicated things, all I use it for is for stereo FM.

    The setup is remarkably simple: I have an FM aerial feed and two speakers.

    When I bought it (new) I freaked out when it was silent. It was only when I switched it from PLII Movie to Stereo Direct that it made any sound.

    I haven't changed it since but now either my speakers or more likely my ears need a bit extra treble.

    The problem is that I only get any sound at all if it is on 'Stereo Direct'. It is silent in 'Stereo' and anll other modes.

    Am I doing something particularly stupid? Am I having yet another 'senior moment'?

    thanks.................

    R
     
  2. nrighton

    nrighton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    274
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Fresno, California
    Ratings:
    +56
    The "Stereo Direct" mode bypasses all digital processing. If you are hearing no sound in any other modes you may have a problem with the digital signal processing board on the AVR.
     
  3. roger hayhurst

    roger hayhurst
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh dear! That sounds expensive! I wish I had persued th issue when I first bought it.

    I shall have to connect and check some othr inputs.................

    R
     
  4. roger hayhurst

    roger hayhurst
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    so, is there an unequivocal test to determine if the DSP board is working or not?
     
  5. AshleyH

    AshleyH
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +5
    Plug in a cd or DVD player using either an optical or coaxial digital lead Nd see if you get any sound.

    But as others have said, it sounds like a blown board. There is some way of doing a factory reset I believe,
    Though this is unlikely to cure it.

    I think the amp would be uneconomic to repair now, so probably best just to continue to enjoy it in 2 channel a Stereo Direct mode.
     

Share This Page

Loading...