AVR Buying Suggestions

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by Vivek B, Oct 27, 2018.

1. Vivek B

Vivek B
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Guys

I am not very experienced when it comes to building a home sound system. I have been doing my research from over a month the more I get in to this the more I am getting confused. I need your sincere help to suggest me a good home audio system.

My feeling is that the stereo amplifiers produce better sound than AV receivers. I may not be right at it but its my current impression. The confusing part is if a stereo amp and AVR amp outputs the same numbers than whats is difference in sound quality. In that case I think AVR would be a better option still not sure.

I am open to buy a stereo amp but I can not live without Bluetooth/Wifi and preferably AM/FM tuner in a stereo amp. So far I have shortlisted Denon PMA- 1600 NE with Klipsch RP 260F speakers.

But this system lacks BT/Wifi/AM-FM.

Can you please suggest me any other stereo amp with all these features or any AVR with equally good sound (I plan to use AVR in 2 channel mode only as of now not connecting to TV).

I can spend around $2K on the amp.

Thanks in advance.

2. DT79

DT79

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +215
    Arcam SR250. You may be able to find a discounted new one for £2K, and you can get second hand from around £1500 on eBay.

3. DT79

DT79

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +215
    Edit - just saw you were talking about $, not £. I assume USD, in which case you may be looking at second hand for the SR250.

4. Rambles

Rambles

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,952
    If you are only going to have a 2 channel set-up, and music is a priority, then usual advice is to go for a stereo integrated amplifier, as they will be more 'musical' than an AVR.