1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AVR-300 - quick question

Discussion in 'Arcam Owners' Forum' started by quern, Feb 14, 2005.

  1. quern

    quern
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    35
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Can someone tell me if my AVR-300 will support driving both 8 ohm and 4 ohm speakers simultaneously? I am looking at purchasing rear surrounds that are 4 ohm as compared to my 8 ohm speakers. These rear surround speakers are from the same company and are the same model that I currently have... This is why I'm curious if I set the receiver to 4 ohm speakers if it would drive both - and not end up with any problems.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. RaceTripper

    RaceTripper
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    537
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +1
    My guess is it should work if you set the switch to 4 ohms on the back, and use the setup menu to balance levels. But someone from Arcam should probably answer for sure.
     
  3. deaf cat

    deaf cat
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,221
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +58
    Hi
    Sorry to confuse things, but I would be of the opinion that you could run both so long as you don't hammer the volume. The 4ohms will warm the amp that much quicker (set to 8ohm) - This is what I would do if I was stuck with different ohm speakers, if I had the choice I would buy them all the same - Ideally I would say all should have the same resistance.
    Best of luck
     
  4. RaceTripper

    RaceTripper
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    537
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +1
    I believe it's safer to run 8 ohm speakers at 4 ohms, than the reverse, so the 4 ohm setting on the AVR would be more correct.

    And, IIRC, Arcam engineering has suggested elsewhere in these forums that some users with 8 ohm speakers might even benefit with better quality sound at a 4 ohm setting, albeit with a lower possible volume.

    But as I stated, best bet is to get a definitive answer straight from Arcam.
     
  5. Andy_61

    Andy_61
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    On a different but related question - my Monitor Audio S8's are 6ohm, so which of the two settings on the AVR300 should I use to minimise risk of long term damage, to either the speakers or the receiver?

    I'm sorry if this is a simple query, but unless you ask, you will never know, as my old dad used to say . . . .
     
  6. ANDY_DUTTON

    ANDY_DUTTON
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +87
    If you are using 8ohm and 4ohm speakers it is best to set the AVR300 to 4ohm setting. If you do this the AVR300 will be quite happy driving different loads on different amplifers.

    If you have 6ohm speakers it is best to run the AVR300 on the 4ohm setting.

    Regards,
    Andrew
     
  7. quern

    quern
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    35
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks Andy, and everyone else, for all the help! I really appreciate it.

    Cheers

    Jerry
     
  8. Andy_61

    Andy_61
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Motion for approval seconded and passed!

    Thank you all.
     

Share This Page

Loading...