1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AVR 300 availability

Discussion in 'Arcam Owners' Forum' started by ReTrO, Nov 22, 2003.

  1. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    John or Andy

    What is the ETA for the AVR 300 receiver?

    I'm looking at getting one to run in my room, only in stereo to start with. I'm currently running a P75 when I have the time to set eveyrthing up as I have no pre-amp as such.

    What's the expected "SRP/end user price" going to be?

    Thanks
     
  2. Nobber22

    Nobber22
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,977
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +109
    I went to my local Arcam Dealer on Saturday and they didn't even know it was in the pipeline. :rolleyes:

    I am going to try to get my name down on a waiting list - I MUST have this amp! :D

    John/Andy - I have the AVR200; you chaps need anyone neutral to test a 300 at home and compare it with the 200? :cool:
     
  3. raven219

    raven219
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Messages:
    532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East Angular (near Tunisia)
    Ratings:
    +15
    Well if you are looking for willing volunteers........:D
     
  4. lmccauley

    lmccauley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2000
    Messages:
    3,302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +212
    The SRP I was told at the Event 2 was somewhere around the £1300 / $2000 mark. ETA I think was around next Easter-ish, but don't quote me on it!

    Cheers,
    Liam
     
  5. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    But I NEED one for Christams...

    :(
     
  6. pringtef

    pringtef
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,052
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Ratings:
    +72
    Have you a DVD player with onboard decoding?

    If so, thought about going for an A32 with multi channel board instead? Roughly about the same price, and it's available now...............
     
  7. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    I need one with a digital input as it will be running off my PC and the analogue output side, while good, is still a tad hissy.
     
  8. ANDY_DUTTON

    ANDY_DUTTON
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +87
    The likely launch date for the AVR300 is Q2 next year. I cannot be more precise as there are many parts of the design to still be fully resolved. We expect the unit to retail at arround £1300 but this is also subject to change.

    We would love to have the product earlier as there has been alot of interest in it. However I am sure you understand that it has to be right and solving all the little problems takes a long time.

    Thank you for your offer of beta testing, currently we have enough sites available for this work.

    Regards,
    Andrew
     
  9. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    Thanks for the reply Andy.

    Good job I ordered the cables to make up for my P75 for now.

    Eagerly looking forward to the AVR 300's appearance, it will give me more time to save up my pennies.

    Cheers.:smashin:
     
  10. dml

    dml
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I suppose this is one of those no win situations for manufacturers.

    Pre-announce a forthcomming product too early and irritate those potential customers that hear about it and want it NOW.

    Keep quiet until the launch is imminent and upset potential customers who have just bought something else because they did not know it was due out.

    Personally I think announcing a product in November 2003 which will not be available till Q2 2004 (potentially July) is a bit too early.

    I for one am very interested in the AVR300. I don't think I can stretch to a AV8/P7. :(
     
  11. vanwel

    vanwel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any news yet?
     
  12. RaceTripper

    RaceTripper
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    537
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Here in the States, my Arcam dealer tells me to expect the AVR300 sometime in February. I've reserved one to replace my AVR200.

    Now I have to start saving for more speakers (and roses for spousal bribes).

    Dean
     
  13. ANDY_DUTTON

    ANDY_DUTTON
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +87
    Thanks for your interest in the AVR300 it is always good to know that the hard work we are putting in is worth while.

    Currrently we are still on the same time scale as I stated in my earlier email, that is I expect the first delivery some time in Q2.

    I think that Febuary delivery is very unlikely and probably arrose from our origonal schedual when we hoped to release the the AVR300 just after XMAS. Unfortunately we had some engineering changes we had to make, these have now been resolved but it put back our delivery schedual.

    I should be recieving the first of the pilot run batch next week so the main beta testing can start. After that there is a pre production batch then full mass production. So you can see there is still a way to go.

    Regards,
    Andrew
     
  14. RaceTripper

    RaceTripper
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    537
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Oh well, if I have to wait I still have my AVR200.

    By the time it shows up I should also have the additional speaker(s) as well (haven't yet decided between doing a 6.1 and 7.1 setup).

    Dean
     
  15. 337GUS

    337GUS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    NE Scotland
    Ratings:
    +18
  16. vanwel

    vanwel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, since the AVR300 is not ready for full mass production yet, could you perhaps change the front panel? Sadly it doesn't look so pretty...
     
  17. RaceTripper

    RaceTripper
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    537
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +1
    I like the look of my ARV200, and the AVR300 looks pretty much the same, except for more buttons.

    Although my AVr200 is black I'll be getting a silver AVR300 to go with the silver DV88+ dealer demo I just got. I wouldn't want them to change the faceplate design since the two match up nicely.

    Now if Q2 could just arrive more quickly. :(

    So, who gets them first, the states or the isles? :p

    Dean
     
  18. pwiles1968

    pwiles1968
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    773
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leicestershire - England
    Ratings:
    +10
    It does not look from the picture that there are any jumper's on the back, does this mean you will not be able to drop the centre rear's in favour of Bi-Amping the fronts? unless there is internal switching. There is something about zone 2 or B audio and video so there is a multi-room facility.
     
  19. ANDY_DUTTON

    ANDY_DUTTON
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +87
    There is internal switching to allow the rears to be used either to BiAmp the front or to amplify the Zone 2 output.

    Regards,
    Andrew
     
  20. pwiles1968

    pwiles1968
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    773
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leicestershire - England
    Ratings:
    +10
    Do the analogue inputs go through A/D > processor > D/A or is there a direct option for CD or similar? Any hints as to how it will sound in stereo, would you be willing to compare it to one of the current integrated amps A85 for example.

    Oh and the Zone 2 can that be from a different source to the Mains?
     
  21. John Dawson

    John Dawson
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Messages:
    852
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    There is a direct path for analogue inputs like CD - we have paid a huge amount of attention to this and in the opinion of one of our key listeners to whom I spoke yesterday its sound quality in this mode is somewhere between an A80 and A85 - not exactly the same as either you understand but definitely in that league. This is an excellent result and IMO well ahead of the competition.

    Zone 2 can have a separate signal from zone 1 within certain constraints (in particular it must be input in analogue as there is only one DSP and you can't for example have a movie in 5.1 and simultaneously in 2 channel to zone 2 unless you use the analogue output of the DVD player to provide the stereo zone 2 signal. This is pretty normal in most receivers and once understood not a major limitation). If your main room is in 5.1 you can use the 2 spare power amps to drive zone 2. Zone 2 also has a composite video feed.

    HTH.

    John Dawson (Arcam)
     
  22. RaceTripper

    RaceTripper
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    537
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +1
    When can we get detailed info about the AVR300? I've seen bits and pieces here and there, but how about a brochure with features/specs or better yet, a manual.

    chomping at the bit...

    Dean
     
  23. cmoore

    cmoore
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    77
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +1
    Slightly off track but while waiting to buy one...

    you talk of analogue input for CD. So if I am using the DV88+ for CD and DVD can I use the digital input to the AVR300 for CD too or should I use a separate analogue connection?

    Much difference in quality, enought to warrant the analogue cables??

    Plus why is there nothing about the AVR300 on the Arcam web site. Having to wait since November/December until Q2 is frustrating and this forum is the only place I know to get info.

    You are making us wait (which is fine to get the best) so please just give a little progress information!
     
  24. kevshed

    kevshed
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +74
    I guess this depends on where the best DACs are... If they are better in the DV88 then you should benefit from going direct path on the amp... . If the other way around, the use the digital. Try both once you have the unit and ssee which you prefer.

    I use the DACs in my DV27 for CD.... but to be honest, the audible difference was only very slight, when i used the AV8s..... however you shoul expect different results with a DV88+AVR300... wait and see i guess :)

    kev
     
  25. John Dawson

    John Dawson
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Messages:
    852
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    Cmoore - in my opinion you should plan to use the DV88's analogue outputs for CD etc and its digital output for replaying DD and DTS material - that will you give you the best all round sonic results.

    I'll look into the lack on information on the website ref the AVR300 - unfortunately there is always a lot to do and so little time :)

    We will be showing and demonstrating the AVR300 at the Bristol show near the end of February. This will be a good opportunity to talk to our staff about everything it will (and won't) do!

    HTH.

    John Dawson (Arcam)
     
  26. cmoore

    cmoore
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    77
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks John and Kev for the replies - the first simple answer I think I have ever had :).

    I keep checking the Arcam web site... still nothing....

    Keep the momentum going... There must be some more news or progress. Even an updated estimate on release date.

    Will have to try and find the time to go to Bristol I guess.

    Thanks again,

    Chris.
     
  27. evp2000

    evp2000
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  28. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +44
    Is the display on the 300 green or blue?

    I ask as it looks green and all other displays are blue. It'd look odd.
     
  29. John Dawson

    John Dawson
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Messages:
    852
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    It is green like all our other products :)

    John Dawson (Arcam)
     
  30. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +44

Share This Page

Loading...