1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AVR-1906 No Test Tones?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by daKlone, Oct 25, 2005.

  1. daKlone

    daKlone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    992
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    22
    Ratings:
    +20
    Waited in all day today for the man to deliver my shiny, new AVR-1906 but am disappointed that the "Auto Setup" doesn't seem to work :(

    Instead of begining the test tones when I select "Start", it goes back to the main menu without so much as a whimper. Selecting the test tone via the speaker set-up menu does the same thing.

    Is this a known problem?

    Is there something I could be doing wrong (I hope so, I really don't want to send it back)?

    Any suggestions? :lease:
     
  2. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,407
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +856
    Which button are you using to select Start? It should just be a case of pressing the left cursor button rather than enter. You can also check them by pressing the Test Tone button on the remote but the Amp must be in a Dolby/DTS Surround Mode for it to work. Also make sure the Input Mode is set to AUTO.
     
  3. spl23

    spl23
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,669
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +385
    Yes, this is yet another example of Denon having no idea about how to design a user interface! It's the same on the 2805 and 3805 - move cursor to start and press OK, and watch as you fall out of the menu with nothing happening... Pressing cursor left is not the logical thing to do, and the little arrow to the side of the Start button really isn't enough of a hint.

    And don't get me started on their bl**dy instruction manuals!
     
  4. daKlone

    daKlone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    992
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    22
    Ratings:
    +20
    Jase

    :smashin:

    I blame all the excitement (for me not reading the manual properly)...you're quite right, I needed to press "Left" rather than "Enter" to start the test. Works perfectly.

    Thanks chap, you've cheered me up :thumbsup:
     
  5. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,407
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +856
    It's easily missed. Done it myself with my Denon.
     
  6. SilvesterMD

    SilvesterMD
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank God!

    I've spent hours trying to get this work on my AVC-A11XV.

    Much appreciated - Marc
     

Share This Page

Loading...