AVR 100 configuration for B&W Speakers

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Benfica, Jul 22, 2004.

Tags:
  1. Benfica

Benfica

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can somebody help me in this one ?

I read yesterday in a magazine (HI FI "something" - sorry can't remember the exact name know- August edition), that had a test on AVR 300, among others like Denon 3805, stating that with AVR 300 you should configure it for 4ohm speakers even if you had 8ohm speakers.

As I have a B&W Speakers (DM 603 S2 - front and DM 602 S2 - rear, the centre speaker is also B&W but I don't remember the model), all are 8ohm speakers stated in the manuals, should I configure my AVR 100 to 4ohm speakers or keep it as it is now (for 8ohm speakers), as it is stated in the AVR 100 manual ?

And, just for curiosity, why would it be better to change to 4ohm or not ?

Please take in consideration that I'm not an expert in this type of things ! Pelase be patient !

If i should change, would i notice any sound improvement ? (note: i'm quite happy right now with the sound quality I have, but if I can get better ....)

Thanks, for your help, in advance.

Best regards,.

2. Benfica

Benfica

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    The magazine is:

Hi-Fi News (AVtech suplement)

that has this article "AV Receiver group test: Six of the hottest new £1000 models are given the AVTech treatment: Arcam AVR300, Denon AVR-3805, Harman Kardon AVR 630, Pioneer VSX-AX5i, Rotel RSX-1056, Yamaha RX-V2400RDS"

Best regards,

3. ANDY_DUTTON

ANDY_DUTTON

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +87