1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Avoiding lag. What to upgrade???

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by TheBigApple, Apr 15, 2003.

  1. TheBigApple

    TheBigApple
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    664
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    In my cage
    Ratings:
    +13
    I'm having trouble playing first person shooter games such as Medal of Honour.

    When I move the mouse the picture struggles to keep up with the movement as if there is some sort of lag. This gets worse in parts when there is a lot of action on screen the picture freezes for up to a second allowing me to get my butt killed.

    My PC is a packard bell i-extreme which has the following.

    Pentium 4, 2.00GHz
    256 MB of RAM
    nVIDIA GeForce2 MX/MX400 with 64MB on board memory

    I hope this is enough info. I know virtually nothing about PC's so any ideas would be greatly apprieciated.
     
  2. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is the HD LED constantly flashing (sign of not enough memory)

    My P3 933Mhz, 512MB, Geforce 2MX 32MB also lags in Medal of Honour. Sounds like a video card issue- ie your extra 1Ghz is not doing much (I've set at 1025x768 16 bit colour)

    What Riva drivers are you using? Uninstall yours, and install these (2000/XP) verion 43.45

    http://www.nvidia.com/view.asp?IO=winxp-2k_43.45

    Also update video card drivers, chipset drivers, AGP drivers.

    Shut off anti-virus software, and any apps running in the taskbar/other TSR's running. What is your AGP aperture rate? Have you optimized your BIOS settings?
     
  3. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,516
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,852
    You could try knocking down the resolution you are running at first of all.
    The next thing I would try is 512MB Ram and then a new graphics card.
     
  4. Bapapapa

    Bapapapa
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2000
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Buy a new graphics card.

    Yours is nigh on three years out of date.. :/
     
  5. Sinzer

    Sinzer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,107
    nVIDIA GeForce2 MX/MX400 with 64MB on board memory

    These graphics cards were crap to begin with (no offense) that is the reason for your problems.

    Never buy an MX (Nvidia) or non pro ATI card, there is no point unless you are not playing games.
     
  6. TheBigApple

    TheBigApple
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    664
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    In my cage
    Ratings:
    +13
    Thanks for the replies

    Tried knocking the resoloution down but no change. The hard drive light does come on a lot when the picture lags.


    Can you recommend a good one?
     
  7. james.miller

    james.miller
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +143
    ATI r9500pro. asuome graphics card for the money.
     
  8. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Definitely upgrade your graphics card.

    The GF4 Ti range provide good results & won't break the bank (<£100).

    As mentioned, the ATI 9500 or above - good cards too.
     
  9. Hawklord

    Hawklord
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,432
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +260
    What operating system are u using?

    You should definately get more memory whatever os your using . Memory is very cheap at the mo.
    Best g card to get at the mo is ati 9700 pro but still v expensive. Otherwise get a 9500 pro or there abouts. Make sure you have the latest version of direct x installed as well as current hardware drivers for sound card, g card and mouse etc.
     
  10. Sinzer

    Sinzer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,107
    Depending on budget I would recommend -

    Gainward Geforce 3 Ti 500 - Better performance than any current sub 100 quid budget card - 80 quid.

    Gainward Geforce 4 Ti-4200 8X 128 Meg - 120 quid.

    Abit Geforce Ti-4200 OTES - 130 quid, this can be overclocked easily to Ti4600 speeds with no modification. However it is noisy due to having a ridiculous fan on it, this also requires a spare PCI slot next to AGP to accomodate said fan :).

    Sapphire Radeon ATI 9500 Pro - Slightly better performance than the Geforce 4's, but much better AA support and obviously Direct X9 support - 150 quid


    Sapphire Radeon ATI 9700 Pro - The daddy, don't bother with Nvidia at this level - 260 quid.
     
  11. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have...

    Intel Pentium III (socket 370) 933Mhz
    512MB SDRAM PC-133
    Asus Geforce 2 MX 400 32MB

    Slightly slowdown with C&C Generals, Unreal 2 (demo)
    Would replacing the video card help?- I've never seen benchmarks with newer faster cards on slightly older specced machines (always fast mobo/fast video card which means nowt for existing wanna-upgraders)
     
  12. Sinzer

    Sinzer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,107
    Upgrading the card won't hurt, but I would recommend you only buy a Geforce 3 Ti 500 or maybe a Ti4200.

    With that setup you would most likely look at upgrading the whole lot, unfortunately :(

    Depends what mobo you have.
     
  13. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Asus TUSLC-2.

    Only use my PC occasionally- I'm not a PC speed freek.

    I replace my PC when it's REALLY REALLY SLOW :) I usually keep a PC for about 5-6 years, then upgrade.
     
  14. TheBigApple

    TheBigApple
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    664
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    In my cage
    Ratings:
    +13
    Thanks for the replies guys.

    I'm going to get some extra RAM today and see if I notice any difference. Will probably upgrade graphics card when I get paid.

    How easy is it to install a graphics card.
     
  15. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Uninstall your existing video card drivers. Shut down the PC. Flick the switch at the back (PSU switch)

    Open PC, remove existing card, slot in new card. Switch on PC, install drivers/software.
     
  16. Sinzer

    Sinzer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,107
    You will notice a difference in load times, doubt you will notice much difference in gameplay.

    Nathan_silly, it looks like a cheap Geforce 3 would do you best, at least make all 3d games playable. Perhaps even look at getting a cheap P3 CPU thats a little faster.
     
  17. Daneel

    Daneel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,822
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +26
    I couldn't disagree more. At the time the GF2MX was a very good card for the money and perfectly useable for gaming. I had one for over a year playing games like Unreal Tournament.

    As for a new GFX card it depends on how much you want to spend.

    A very good deal at £63 is the ATI 8500LE from Crucial. This will give comparable performance (probably a little better on average) to a GF3 Ti200

    The GF4 4200 is a decent card if you can find it for say £110 or less. IMO though you would be better served by saving a little more and getting an ATI 9500 Pro for about £140.

    RAM:

    256MB is a realistic minimum for an OS like XP. 512MB is good for most applications. If your computer is running out of RAM and having to use virtual memory (the HD) then this could well be the cause of your problems.

    Your GFX card is definitely holding back your PC for gaming though.
     
  18. Sinzer

    Sinzer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,107
    Sorry, I am a hardcore gamer, which is why I don't frequent this particular forum too much :)

    Never been a fan of budget graphics card, my view is that if you want performance you fork out the readies :)

    Budget cards are more than adequate for home cinema, but not for gaming.
     
  19. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Looked at the prices- can't be bothered. I'll leave it another 5 years then upgrade my PC!

    The Geforce 2 MX were good cards- £75 for my Asus and still is quite good. As long as you don't expect 1600x1200 32 bit colour of course, dropping down to 1024x768 16 bit, high detail- is pretty fast- 75fps which is plenty.
     
  20. TheBigApple

    TheBigApple
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    664
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    In my cage
    Ratings:
    +13
    Just put in an extra 512MB of RAM and the slowdown is completly gone. :clap: :clap: :clap:

    Thanks for the help guys. :smashin:
     
  21. Sinzer

    Sinzer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,107
    I am surprised at that........... time to eat my hat :p

    I currently run 256megs due to some problems and never experience slow down on games.

    Mind you the Geforce 2 MX is only 32megs, so it was most likely having to retrieve textures from memory, which were in virtual memory rather than RAM hence why it was hammering your hard disk.

    Glad you got a cheap solution :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...