1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Avia setup for my Z3

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by stevesparks, Jan 14, 2005.

1. stevesparks

stevesparks
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am new to the world of PJs and having read lots of threads on this forum decided to go with a Z3 which I bought just before Christmas.

Thanks to everyone for posting really useful info on here which helped me make a decision.

Anyway, yesterday I took delivery of my new Z3 cause I to fell foul of the locking up when using HDMI. THis one has the new firmware (I've checked it's 1.01) so should be ok.

My question arises because now I have my new PJ I wanted to get the best out of it using Avia. I tried yesterday evening to set the White and Black levels but I can't see the "bars" on the test patterns no matter what level of black or white I choose.

I have read on some other threads people having similar problems and suggestions of reducing Iris and Gamma to get the bars to show. No matter what I have tried so far it doesn't have any effect.

I'm using Power DVD 5 through my HTPC at the moment and wondered whether this was the source of my problem. I've been considering getting TT but didn't know if it was really worth it ?

Any suggestions/help greatly received.

Steve

2. Comer

Comer

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +82
    There is a very useful thread on this by ROne on this forum (try a search)

I am guessing that you are using HDMI input with HDMI set to L1 on the Z3. If so, you need to up the gamma setting on your PC. I have an ATI graphics card with the 4.12 drivers and I set gamma in the overlay from 1 to 1.45. Note you can only adjust the gamma in overlay in the ATI's control pannel when you have PowerDVD running. Then try your AVIA disk to adjust brightness/contrast