1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AVIA or DVE for PV500 & ISF

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by pwood, Jul 19, 2005.

  1. pwood

    pwood
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Central Scotland
    Ratings:
    +137
    Where can I purchase either of these for the cheapest price and which is the easiest to use for setting up a Plazma. Is there much to be gained over the THX setup which comes with a lot of discsc these days. ( where can I get the specs from ?)

    Has anyone compared all three.

    For the future have any of the ISF guys done a PV500 yet and if so how did they get on.
     
  2. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,791
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +670
    Avia is only NTSC.
    DVE is a nightmare to navigate.
    The test patterns on some discs are specific to that disc only.

    So onto a looser with any of them.

    I use Avia for NTSC and DVE for Pal.
     
  3. Sulis

    Sulis
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bath
    Ratings:
    +1
    Piers did an ISF on a PV500 and didn't enjoy the experience! It's tempting to get him in to do mine just for the sadistic pleasure of it... :) (Not out of running in period yet.)
     
  4. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,973
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +227
    It wasn't a PV500 that I have done a full ISF on, but I have done a number of earlier Viera's and they are pigs to calibrate.
     
  5. pwood

    pwood
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Central Scotland
    Ratings:
    +137
    Pig perhaps but did you get there in the end Piers?

    I think THX setup will do to begin with given your thoughts on both Gizlaroc.

    Anyone know how I can get a hold of the THX specs that it mentions further on in the setup?
     
  6. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,973
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +227
    Got there in the end as far as colour temperature was concerned, almost bang on 6500K virtually across the whole of the greyscale, but the few Viera's that I have done have been disappointing even after calibration. The one PV500 that I did a quick set-up on (just setting user controls properly, not tinkering in service menus) was hugely better but as has been discussed before, the prospect of spending hours and hours trying to predict what changes in the service menu will look like when you exit the service menu put me off doing a full calibration (and I wasn't getting paid for it!).
     
  7. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,921
    Piers, have you done a 7200 yet???
    If so, can you do much with them???

    I'm contemplating an ISF.
     
  8. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,791
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +670
    Do the changes not take effect until you exit the service menu then!?
     
  9. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,791
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +670

    The THX setup varies from disc to disc, only really gets you there for that disc.

    Someone was offering DVE or Avia on these forums for next to nothing, I would go that route.
     
  10. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,973
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +227
    Badger,

    Haven't done a 7200 yet but have done 5200 and was really surprised at how good it looked after calibration.

    Gizlaroc,

    The moment you go into the service menu the damn thing resets itself to dynamic mode. As that is NOT a setting that you want you have to try and predict how your settings in the dynamic mode will look like when you exit the service menu and revert to "normal" or "cinema".
     
  11. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,791
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +670
    OOHH Natsy! :(
     
  12. Jazz Monkey Jr

    Jazz Monkey Jr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    14,063
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Garstang, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +1,597
    I have also noticed that when I have been in to check the hours...very annoying. :mad:
     
  13. Jazz Monkey Jr

    Jazz Monkey Jr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    14,063
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Garstang, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +1,597
    So is it not worth spending the money on an ISF?
    What do you mean by disappointing?
     
  14. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,011
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,808
    What Piers means (I hope) is that in comaprison to the commercial panel the end picture of a Vierra is not as good. That is not to say that after calibration it doesn't look much better than it did before....at least they have when I've finished. With the older PV50 units though I am astounded how unlike the commercial glassed brothers they look. I'd love to plug a decent scaler in to one to see if you can get a big improvement that way....I'm sure you must.

    The issue with Vierra's is they have so many layers of processing. There is the USER menu which is applied as an offset over the SERVICE1 menu which is in itself and offset from the SERVICE2 menu (which is the same as the commercial panels and is where we do our tricks generally). It's a long job....

    Gordon
     
  15. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,973
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +227
    Just for the record, Gordon has confirmed what I meant to say. After calibration the Vieras were hugely better than before calibration but still not up to the standard of the commercial panels.
     
  16. mork80

    mork80
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    @experts: Piers & Gordon
    submitting to your wisdom :) :lesson:
    Will a good calibration minimize or exclude the noisy dynamic contrast effect ?
    I mean, not only in user menu, tweaking in service menu too ;) :devil:
    As i'm too far away from you (i live in southern Italy), can you "drive" me remotely in doing that ? :rolleyes:

    :hiya:
     
  17. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,011
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,808
  18. Ekko Star

    Ekko Star
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,183
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +399
    Thing is even after you guys have spent all that time calibrating, the moment you come out of the service menus, the TV begins to self auto-contrast. Please correct me if I'm wrong but won't that undo all the hardwork and purpose of calibrating ?
     
  19. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,011
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,808
  20. stroppygoblin

    stroppygoblin
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Messages:
    185
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    Was that the comment where you couldn't comment or the comment where you commented on Piers' comment ? :devil:
     
  21. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,921
    Cheers Piers, I'll contemplate it :thumbsup:
     
  22. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,011
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,808
  23. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Calibration goes a whole lot further than contrast tho (I hope Piers and gordon agree) so there are still big improvements to be made, and from the length of time it takes to go in and out of the menu structure checking the levels etc it's like calibrating 3 screens in one...................so dont expect a discount!
     
  24. Jazz Monkey Jr

    Jazz Monkey Jr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    14,063
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Garstang, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +1,597
    I am keen to get my panel done, but I want to hear a few happy customers first (I think Sulis is clos to getting his done).
    plus, I've just had a £1500 bill from the plumber :(

    But if anyone wants a free play with mine ;)
     
  25. Jazz Monkey Jr

    Jazz Monkey Jr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    14,063
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Garstang, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +1,597
    Also when you do Sulis plasma, can you get some before and after pics.
     
  26. Jazz Monkey Jr

    Jazz Monkey Jr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    14,063
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Garstang, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +1,597
    My 1000th post (Senior member.............oh yes


    get your dad his slippers

    and some Horlicks)

    :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

    (Only 8 hours to go at work :( )
     
  27. Ekko Star

    Ekko Star
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,183
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +399
    I'm sure it is more complicated but I would imagine all adjustments are inter-related as everytime you adjust one factor you have to re-adjust the other.....going round and round in decreasing circles until colour, contrast, gamma, brightness etc etc all sit comfortably with each other in the conditions that they are being set in.

    It just seems strange to me that you do all that, come out of the service menus and the TV then starts playing havoc with the contrast and underlying gamma levels. In fact it sounds like the PV500 attempts to constantly calibrate itself which is the root of the problem for many ?

    Would be great to find out though for sure !
     
  28. pwood

    pwood
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Central Scotland
    Ratings:
    +137
    Gordon .I'm due to get mine next week ( hopefully). Would love to get you round asap to set it up but I fear the sponds wont allow for a while. If however you want to test out how it looks with a Lumagen feel free to contact me.

    :offtopic: How long would you say my plasma will take to run in and in your opinion is it really necessary to set the contrast/brightness to lower than ideal for the first 100 hours . Whats your advice on watching the likes of NEWS 24 and similar channels with Logos as presently i'm not sure if there isnt a certain amount of paranoia / dissinformation going about regards this issue of screen burn and image retention.
     

Share This Page

Loading...