• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

AVCHD to DVD

cpbjag

Standard Member
Hi

A Newbie here.

I have a Canon AVCHD camcorder. I am using Cyberlink software on a Dell XPS 15 laptop to edit my footage and save to BluRay disk. I have no problems with any of this and the quality of the final output is as good as the original.

My problem comes when I attempt to down-convert my 16:9 PAL AVCHD video to DVD to share with friends. I fully accept that DVD is SD rather than HD but the quality loss I am getting seems excessive. I am definitely converting at the highest quality DVD settings. The picture is watchable but "uncomfortable" with loads of ghosting. I have tried Sony Vegas as well and experienced the same problems. Unfortunately the trial version of Nero prohibits test conversion from AVCHD to DVD so that's not going to be an option for me.

Video taken on my old standard definition DV camera is far superior than anything down-converted from the AVCHD format.

I know I can get better results because my wedding video was shot in AVCHD. We were given both BluRay and DVD disks and the quality of both is great. Unfortunately our video guy has moved on and we cannot contact him to find which software he used, but if anyone can suggest a better way of obtaining a quality DVD image, I'd be really grateful.

Many thanks.

JamesASR

Standard Member
Almost definitely an easier option but you could try AVCHD to MP4 (Handbrake) to WMV (some Windows Media program) then use Windows 7 DVD maker. AVCHD might even directly convert to WMV but I doubt it.

mikethelaserman

I use a Panasonic, but your problem seems similar to the one I had.