AV9 Monitor Out.

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by Pollensa1946, Sep 6, 2012.

Tags:
  1. Pollensa1946

    Pollensa1946
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    290
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +20
    Just set up my AV9 which has been in storage while the room was being refurbished. All connected up and working fine. I also have a new LCD TV.
    On my previous TV I had used the Monitor Out S-Video connection for the OSD, but that would not work at all with the S-Video connection on the new TV (Mystery? Anybody know why?). So I used the Monitor Out Composite Video RCA connection into the TV, and that works OK. Only thing is I did not have a proper video cable and used instead an analogue audio RCA connector. No problems so far but am I likely to have a problem with not using a video cable?
    I don't use any video connections on the AV9 other than the OSD out. Audio only.
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2012
  2. Mark.Yudkin

    Mark.Yudkin
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    10,000
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Zurich, CH
    Ratings:
    +1,531
    You should not have any problems - the only difference is that an audio cable has a red or white (sometimes black or grey) dot whereas a composite video cable has a yellow dot. Some (older) audio cables don't have 75 Ohm impedance, but in a world where manufacturers are interested in reducing costs, this is not common.

    Chances are that you S-VHS cable has a bent pin - this being easily done.
     
  3. Pollensa1946

    Pollensa1946
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    290
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +20
    No bent pins. I tried 2 cables and both are perfect pin-wise. However, the problem is solved, although remains a mystery.
    After tweaking both the AV9 and the TV to my satisfaction. I pulled out the composite video analogue cable and put in the S-Video cable. Up came the OSD. Previously the TV did not even recognise that there was an input on S-Video.
    Thanks for your quick response.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice