1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AV9 Announced At CEDIA

Discussion in 'Arcam Owners' Forum' started by gostan, Sep 10, 2005.

  1. gostan

    gostan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Jim Piscitello of Next Level AV has indicated that Arcam surprised all at CEDIA in Indianapolis with the announcement of the new AV9 which is supposed to be available by the end of 2005.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    surprized? Definate lack of BNCs and XLRs for me :)
     
  3. Audionyx

    Audionyx
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    667
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East Yorkie Porky
    Ratings:
    +20
    Very interesting - I wonder what other improvements to the pre pro have been added (DSP's, DACS, Interface, Room EQ, Upconversion etc etc) and whether there is an upgrade path for AV8 owners?
     
  4. Audionyx

    Audionyx
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    667
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East Yorkie Porky
    Ratings:
    +20
    Some information quoted from nextlevelav forum - this guy Jim Piscitello saw the new AV9 in person as was able to obtain the following info:

    The AV9, yep, a new processor is due out by end of 2005. This was a shocker. I have known about other releases months before they're due but this was truly kept a secret. Current AV8 owners will be able to migrate to this unit by sending their units in for updating (software and hardware). There is a new software patch available for the AV8 that was just released and if an owner performs this upgrade, it'll be 80% that of the AV9. Key feature on the AV9, you guessed it, HDMI switching --- what a surprise considering what they put into the AVP-700.

    Quite excited by this announcement! Anyone got anymore info? Crusty? Andy Dutton? JD? :D
     
  5. Steve.EX

    Steve.EX
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Messages:
    3,096
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +69
    80% of an AV9???????????????????
    Not quite what av8 owners might have secretly hoped for?
     
  6. gostan

    gostan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am sure that Jim will be able to obtain more information about the AV9 today!
     
  7. Sab

    Sab
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    733
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +20
    You mean - Mad Darren - because I have upgraded to Version 4 on my Arcam FMJ AV8 that it will be about 80% of the performance of the yet to be released AV9?

    I hope that I have not misunderstood.
     
  8. Steve.EX

    Steve.EX
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Messages:
    3,096
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +69
    I believe him to mean - after the hardware upgrade.
     
  9. Sparky66

    Sparky66
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +4
    I think the Fmj AV9 will support the Hdmi ver 1.1 protocol with multichannel audio unlike the Diva AVP700. Hopefully you can now use a true one cable solution for video and multichannel hi-res audio - Dvd Audio and SACD !!I've been waiting patiently to put in full use, my Fmj DV29 HDMI connection and I hope this is it.
    Maybe they should re-consider balanced (XLR - BNC) analogue line level outputs (ala AVP700)to its' mating 7 or (more??) channel amp. :lease:
     
  10. Audionyx

    Audionyx
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    667
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East Yorkie Porky
    Ratings:
    +20
    From the information it is implied that there is perhaps not such a significant hardware upgrade - perhaps solely the support of HDMI in one form or another. Interesting to know that HDMI 1.2 standard has been set with full support for SACD/DSD streaming audio.

    Best case scenario would be:

    - HDMI 1.2 support (unlikely as Arcam do not make an SACD player given the future uncertainty of the format)
    - some form of advanced equalisation of audio channels (Room Eq)
    - Support and headroom for future decoding formats

    Now if the AV8 with version 4 is 80% as capable as the AV9 then does HDMI switching/input make up that 20%?? What else other then updated input provision has Arcam provided? I guess until a formal announcement is made we could speculated enough to drive us nutty as a squirrels fart!

    From a purists view, I would rather a processor had excellent audio qualities combined with ease of use and reliability rather than cramming all the technology that the yearly updated Jap receivers attempt to provide - hence their almost immediate obsolescence!
     
  11. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    HDMI 1.1 I think is all people need for the Arcam product.
    New formats (HD ones would be nice) but not essential
    Room Eq would be nice again.

    Glad they haven't changed the AV8 TOO much as it is a great processor. Personally I still need XRs but thats just me.
     
  12. Sab

    Sab
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    733
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +20
    I bought the Arcam AV8 / P7 combination last month ex - dem for a good price. I have upgraded to Version 4. The Arcam AV8 / P7 is a very good combination with both music and movies. The sound quality impresses me every day.

    To tell you the truth I am a little disappionted that the AV9 has just been announced but it could still be another year of waiting till it is released. Arcam Technical support denied that a successor was on the way when I rang them a few weeks go. But I suppose Arcam had to keep it a secret, after all they have a business to run.

    If the AV8 sounds so good now how can Arcam improve on this significantly? Only our own ears can decide that.

    I am sure they can upgrade the DACs and other components as was said earlier as they will be cheaper than three years ago. I do not need HMDI switching or balanced outputs at the moment so I am happy for now.

    At least Arcam releases a new piece of hardware every 2 - 3 years and not every year like the Japanese manufacturers.
     
  13. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    There ia always something new around the corner, enjoy what you have in the knowledge it is one of the best available.
     
  14. Audionyx

    Audionyx
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    667
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East Yorkie Porky
    Ratings:
    +20
    Indeed - the future waits for no one though if I constantly worry about tomorrow how can I enjoy today?
     
  15. jont

    jont
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,860
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    near Aylesbury
    Ratings:
    +393
    looking at that photo I wonder if the hdmi interface is an add-on card - there seems to be two extra screws (one at either end) of the bank of hdmi sockets ... can anyone get a look at the back of their AV8 and see if there is a suitable space for a hardware upgrade ? !!
     
  16. Greggles

    Greggles
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,069
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    St. Saviour, Jersey
    Ratings:
    +74
    The entire rear plate of the AV8 is one piece so unfortunately the HDMI socket board cannot simply be inserted into an available slot.

    Funny how you wait for an AV8 upgrade for two years and two come along together. Call me sceptical but am I the only one who thinks the picture of the AV9 rear panel has a certain "Photshop" look to it? The position of the six HDMI sockets shoehorned in just below the lid strikes me as odd, especially in comparison to those of the AVP700.
     
  17. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    Tag did exactly the same with it's after market fixes, a new design is VERY expensive for the customers, I suspect this is a good call by ARCAM to save you money.
     
  18. Sab

    Sab
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    733
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +20
    What would be nice as well is two extra optical ( digital ) inputs on the yet to be released AV9 - there is room for two more. These days some people have digital TV, two games consoles and a DVD recorder. This requires more optical digital inputs.

    No one has mentioned the price of the new AV9 - I would GUESS it will be around 3500 pounds with perhaps the hardware upgrade costing 500 - 650 pounds ( hopefully ).

    But we will all have to see ... it could be another year of waiting!

    Andy Dutton and Crustyloafer - any news or thoughts?
     
  19. Greggles

    Greggles
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,069
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    St. Saviour, Jersey
    Ratings:
    +74
    Interestingly, Crustyloafer did post a threat on the forum back in June relating to an HDMI hardware update for the AV8 which was due before Christmas. He then had it withdrawn almost immediately as he said it was "currently unconfirmed and possibly innacurate" Maybe it was more accurate than Arcam liked at the time?
     
  20. Crustyloafer

    Crustyloafer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9,501
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1,237
    I have neither, that is until I have any confirmed information that is deemed to be ready for public consumption. I'll keep you guys posted as and when I can.
     
  21. kaspj

    kaspj
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2001
    Messages:
    134
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    U.K.
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is promising but I hope those HDMI slots do more than simply video switching. With BD & HD-DVD just round the corner, I hope they'll support HD audio formats from Dolby & DTS with an appropriate DSP board upgrade. Fingers crossed for the full monty :)
     
  22. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    I asked a series of Qs a month ago on HDMI upgrades into the AV8 a month ago on the software upgrade thread and how it related to the this. It was never in doubt for me, more when....
     
  23. jakeman

    jakeman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    88
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Toronto
    Ratings:
    +0
    Until the hdmi switching problem is resolved on the avp 700 I doubt Arcam will ship the AV9.
     
  24. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    Looks like if we are lucky HDMI 1.1 chips may do SACD (HDMI 1.2) with a firmware upgrade. Mind you the rest of the system has to understand / or be able at least to translate DSD to PCM for it all to work (the latter for ARCAM I suspect).
     
  25. Greggles

    Greggles
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,069
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    St. Saviour, Jersey
    Ratings:
    +74
    Well Arcam Support told me today that the AV9 release was "immanent" and that a retrofit upgrade for the AV8 would be available, but were unable to give any product/ date details.
     
  26. jakeman

    jakeman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    88
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Toronto
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ummm..right.
     
  27. sticker

    sticker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is that only one HDMI output I see, thats a shame
     
  28. Audionyx

    Audionyx
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    667
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East Yorkie Porky
    Ratings:
    +20
    Heard on the grapevine that the AV9 has an uprated power supply featuring Mask of Silence technology and the provision of HDMI is purely for switching purposes :(

    I hope that some form of audio capability for the HDMI will become available if this is true. Does seem a little strange as the DV29 has full audio support on the HDMI (Ver 1.1)
     
  29. Sab

    Sab
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    733
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +20
    I rang Arcam Customer support on Tuesday ( 20th September ). A guy told me that the performance of the AV9 will be the same as the AV8 but the AV9 will have HDMI switching. Also, the AV has video upconverting from composite to HDM. But really nothing can be confirmed yet ...

    Arcam's success is to some extent due to the fact they listen to their customers. The customers want HDMI switching. Let's face it - the AV8 is hardly cheap even second hand. I would be happy to learn that I would not have to spend a lot of money on upgrading. I do not need HDMI witching.

    The AV8 is an excellent product. If it ain't broke why fix it?
     
  30. jont

    jont
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,860
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    near Aylesbury
    Ratings:
    +393
    Spoke to Arcam at the Scottish Show today and they confirmed that the AV9 would be out around November and there would be an AV8 upgrade path available in the new year :)

    Jon
     

Share This Page

Loading...