1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AV8 with P35 & P25/3 - will they work together

Discussion in 'Arcam Owners' Forum' started by ihan, May 20, 2005.

  1. ihan

    ihan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    624
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +25
    Hi folks,

    My FMJ (on the cheap) crusade is progressing.

    A second hand AV8 is on its way :clap:.
    I already own a P35, DV29 & a CD23.

    An ex-demo P25/3 is available at a reasonable price.

    Does anyone know if an AV8 + P35 + P25/3 will work together. In other words, will they all switch on (& off) together if daisychained via their remote/trigger sockets?

    I am assuming they all have the same gain?

    Regards,
    Ian
     
  2. Timmy C

    Timmy C
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2003
    Messages:
    4,396
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +199
  3. ihan

    ihan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    624
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +25
    Hi Timmy C,

    Thanks for the info. That is "quite remarkable".

    Can anyone else confirm? I just thought that it was a 12V signal whose rising edge turned the amps on, and whose falling edge turned them off; reading the AVR300 manual led me to believe this.

    Can anyone at Arcam tell me what the P25 & P35 protocols are so I can set about designing a little external converter board?

    I will put the P25/3 purchase on hold until I get more info.

    Regards,
    Ian
     
  4. ihan

    ihan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    624
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +25
    Hello all,

    I contacted Arcam's customer service department by 'phone today and a gentleman called Steve or Stephen (not sure which) looked at the P25 manual and told me it should work fine, so now I'm as confused as ever. :confused:

    I'm not sure whether to proceed with the P25 purchase or not. Could anyone else confirm?

    Regards,
    Ian
     
  5. RadBadMark

    RadBadMark
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    83
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    I haven't come across any problems using P25's with the AV8 - 4 daisychained from the zone 1 trigger, and they switch on/off just fine.

    Can't comment on using P25s and 35s together, but can't imagine it would be a problem.
     

Share This Page

Loading...