1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AV8 Video Converting

Discussion in 'Arcam Owners' Forum' started by dealmaker, Nov 6, 2003.

  1. dealmaker

    dealmaker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2001
    Messages:
    740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    nearly in Scotland!
    Ratings:
    +1
    Gents

    Will an AV8 convert an RGB video signal to Component???

    Alternativley if I input an S-Video signal will it output Component to my PJ.

    I want to connect my Freeview DigiBox to my projector via the AV8 - the freeview box can output either RGB or S-Video - if I connect this to the AV8 will the amp convert the signal and push it up the Component output to the PJ??

    Many thanks
     
  2. ANDY_DUTTON

    ANDY_DUTTON
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +87
    Hi,

    The AV8 has no video conversion internally, so if you want to convert the video format you will need an external converter to do it.

    Regards,
    Andrew
     
  3. dealmaker

    dealmaker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2001
    Messages:
    740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    nearly in Scotland!
    Ratings:
    +1
    Andy,

    Thanks for that.

    So If I input an S-Video Signal from the Digibox into a relevant input on the AV8 - where will the signal be output? (Dont have my manual with me! sorry!) - I'd understood that the AMP would always try to output the highest quality signal i.e component ?

    Thanks
     
  4. kryten

    kryten
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +14
    If you put S-Video in then you'll get S-Video out.

    The complication (and this may be what you're asking) is when you have multiple inputs.

    So, if you put RGB, S-Video and Composite in then you'll only get RGB out (plus Composite on Zone 2). The S-Video and Composite outputs on Zone 1 will have nothing output through them.

    If you are putting an RGB or component signal into the AV8 there is NO POINT putting the S-Video signal in as well, as it will always choose to send the RGB signal out (unless of course you can turn off RGB output on your source component, though I don't know why you'd want to do that).
     
  5. dealmaker

    dealmaker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2001
    Messages:
    740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    nearly in Scotland!
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi,

    The Pioneer and Sony Freeview boxes can output either RGB OR S-video signals - BUT only one or the other

    The AV8 is currently getting a component signal from my DVD player and has Component AND S-video connections to my PJ.

    I'm guessing that when I connect the S-video from the digibox to the AV8 that this signal will be passed thorugh the S-video output to the PJ irrespective of wether it's seeing a component signal from dvd player or not.
     
  6. kryten

    kryten
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +14
    Yes - all of the 'only outputs the best quality signal' applies only to the currently selected source. So if you select 'Digibox' then it will output the best available for that (S-Vid).

    When you select 'DVD' it will output the best signal available for that (Component).

    Oh, just to correct my 'no point' comment about S-Video connection along with composite - if you are using some sort of DVD/S-VHS recording device on the VCR loop, then it may be worthwhile as the VCR record loop of the AV8 doesn't have a Composite/RGB output option.
     
  7. dealmaker

    dealmaker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2001
    Messages:
    740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    nearly in Scotland!
    Ratings:
    +1
    Kryten,

    Thanks for that.

    So my options are to either select S-video output on the digibox - connect to the AV8 and then selct my projectors s-video input as it will be getting an S-video signal from the AV8

    OR

    Select RGB output on the Digibox - route this signal through an in-line RGB to Component Convertor - then give the AV8 another component input (in addition to the DVD player) and it will output Component directly to the PJ?

    In both instances audio will be via a Toslink digital optical cable.

    Think the s-video route will be the simplest solution?

    Thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...