1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AV8 Remote Peeling

Discussion in 'Arcam Owners' Forum' started by BladeRnR, Jul 8, 2005.

  1. BladeRnR

    BladeRnR
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have just noticed over the last month that the finish on the remote for my AV8 is starting to peel. It's also starting to get rough around the edges and one side I've had to put some tape as the skin finish came off. I guess my question is can I get another remote or is there some way to counter this problem. I actually liked the oil skin finish on the remote but now I'm questioning it's longevity. Thank in advance.
     
  2. radio

    radio
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Messages:
    246
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Ratings:
    +5
    Ditto here.. im considering using it till its in pieces or just getting the logitech colour model...

    I dont think it will be covered in warranty? but if it is then intresting.
     
  3. MrKegFlex

    MrKegFlex
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just happened to notice this today on my CR80 remote. I thought it was a grime buildup on the remote until I noticed it was actually the finish flaking off. Anybody know what causes it or is it just a bad batch of remotes?

    Is this kind of defect covered under the warranty?
     
  4. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    18,397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +5,483
    You're telling me, its not a polished metal remote? £3k for a processor, and its a plastic remote?
     
  5. DrBosa

    DrBosa
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    My CR80 is peeling as well. Bought the damn thing in October -04 (together with my AVR250) and it is already starting to look like crap.

    I'll let you know if the warranty covers it because I'll return it for sure.
     
  6. MrKegFlex

    MrKegFlex
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It would be interesting to find out how many forum members are experiencing this problem. When I emailed support, I got this response -

    "This is the first case I've heard of the outer layer peeling on the CR-80 remote.. The only thing that might of done this is intense heat, or heavy wear and tear. Regretably, the unit is not covered under warranty for this sort of peeling."

    There is definitely nothing hot on the end-table where my remote is kept so that can't be it. I've owned my unit for less than 1/2 a year... play a few cds a few times a week and 2 or 3 movies on the weekend. I hope that doesn't qualify as heavy wear and tear.

    It's a shame it's doing it, it's a nice remote.
     
  7. MrKegFlex

    MrKegFlex
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually, I'm confusing it with another purchase. I bought my avr300 in mid-april of this year, so my cr80 has only seen a few months of use before experiencing the peeling problem.
     
  8. Crustyloafer

    Crustyloafer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9,526
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1,243
    My CR-80 that came with the AVR300 has started peeling, I just got another one instead and put in the box. I now use a Marantz RC9500 to control everything.
     
  9. MrKegFlex

    MrKegFlex
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I received another email from Arcam support, they are wanting me to go through my dealer to send my remote back. They seem unaware of this problem and would like to see what is actually happening to the remote.

    I'm not sure how common this problem is... or, if people have bothered to complain when it happens. So, hopefully, this will help find a solution... whether it's isolated incidents or a bigger problem.
     
  10. Hifi addict

    Hifi addict
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    maybe your wife was over enthusiastic with some cleaning chemicals, thinking she was helping you to clean your most loved device in the house ;)
     
  11. DrBosa

    DrBosa
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tell her to only use dihydrogen-monoxide :D
     
  12. MrKegFlex

    MrKegFlex
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Received my replacement remote today... the original is on it's way back to Arcam.

    The more I think about it, I'm starting to wonder if the coating on the remote has a reaction with furniture polish (or a particular brand of polish). My remote sits on my end table which gets wiped down with furniture polish occasionally... and the peeling started where the remote makes contact with the end table. Weird if that is the cause, none of my other remotes have a problem with it.
     
  13. liteswap

    liteswap
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    327
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    East Sussex, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Mine's doing the same, and I've only had it a few months. There's no furniture polish on it either, that's for sure so, MrKegFlex, I'd guess that's not the cause..
     
  14. MrKegFlex

    MrKegFlex
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would contact Arcam support and let them know. According to them, I'm the first one to experience this problem and report it to them.
     
  15. liteswap

    liteswap
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    327
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    East Sussex, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Have now done so -- we'll wait and see.
     
  16. liteswap

    liteswap
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    327
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    East Sussex, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've had the following response from Arcam tech support:

    --

    This is only the second time I've heard of one peeling..

    If you can get it back to your Dealer they should replace it for you..
    Forward this e-mail onto them, or say you've spoken to Arcam.


    Arcam Customer Support

    A&R Cambridge Ltd, Pembroke Ave, Denny Industrial Ctr, Waterbeach,
    Cambridge, CB5 9QR, UK

    --

    So I'll report back...
     
  17. MrKegFlex

    MrKegFlex
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Seems weird so many on the forum are experiencing it. Either we are the exception or people aren't bothering to report the problem.
     
  18. liteswap

    liteswap
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    327
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    East Sussex, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    My local friendly dealer (powerplant in Hove) is happy to replace it, after calling Arcam to get a new one. Full marks to them for customer support.
     
  19. DrBosa

    DrBosa
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have contacted Arcam support, see email conversation below:

    (my original email)
    Hi, Are you aware of this problem?

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?p=1800066#post1800066

    http://www.prisjakt.nu/forum/index.php?showtopic=98788&hl=cr80

    I will need to return this remote and have it replaced.

    BR
    Magnus Eriksson
    Sweden
    .................................................................................
    (reply from Arcam)

    Hi Magnus

    Please contact our Swedish Disributor Ljudtema for a replacement. The best thing to do is go on our website. Go to find a dealer, on the top left of our home page. You will need to put in your country of origin, and hit search. The Distributor at that website address/telephone number will be able to help you. Our Distributor's have Technical Support should you need to contact them in the future.

    Regards

    Arcam Customer Support

    A&R Cambridge Ltd, Pembroke Ave, Denny Industrial Ctr, Waterbeach, Cambridge, CB5 9QR, UK
     
  20. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    13,937
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +9,672
    Err do you think it is wide/good manners to publish an email which has a confidentiality note at the bottom?
     
  21. Crustyloafer

    Crustyloafer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9,526
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1,243
    I would suggest removing the post and PMing author stating why.
     
  22. Timmy C

    Timmy C
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2003
    Messages:
    4,547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +225
    I'm not being funny but it seems fairly obvious that the confidentiality note is a standard note that is attached to all emails they send out and I can't see anything in this particular email that Arcam would want to keep private.

    I think Magnus is just trying to help others in the same situation.
     
  23. LFCRules

    LFCRules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,670
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +188
    Hi all,

    I have slightly editted the copy of the mails above to remove the confidentiality statements and the names of the Arcam support person. As Stuart has mentioned, it is good manners really :) But as Timmy has said it is useful for others, and as such I have left in the core of the message to help others in the same situation.

    Thanks

    Andy
     
  24. niceguy235uk

    niceguy235uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,741
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +230
    Scuse my ignorance on this matter but what part of your CR80 remotes is peeling?

    Mine seems ok with no sign of any peelage!

    Regards
     
  25. liteswap

    liteswap
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    327
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    East Sussex, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Quite right: as I said in my PM to you, I should not have disclosed the engineer's name - it's bad etiquette. Apologies to anyone affected.
     
  26. BladeRnR

    BladeRnR
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The peeling is on one side of the remote the other is getting rough and will follow suite I'm sure. It's losing the oil skin finish the more it is used. Thats in my case.
     
  27. Greggles

    Greggles
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,069
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    St. Saviour, Jersey
    Ratings:
    +74
    I currently have 2 CR80s (one of which replaced a faulty unit about 6 months ago) none of which have suffered with this issue. In deed, one of the units in question has been subjected to a bit of a chew from one of my crazy dogs (Belgian Shepherds) but still works perfectly and has not peeled. I wonder if there was a faulty batch or whether the effected units have all come into contact with a common chemical - ie houshold cleaner?
     
  28. BladeRnR

    BladeRnR
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    One would think that it would be some sort of cleaning product, but I've never used one on that remote due to it's oil skin surface. Maybe its just oil and sweat from my hands that has caused the problem. Anyway I will be asking the Hi-Fi joint about getting a replacement and see what they say.
     
  29. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +119
    Also alot of ppl I would think probably do not use the remote once its been added to their pronto/learning remote of choice.. so hence maybe why not that many have noticed.

    Matt
     
  30. MrKegFlex

    MrKegFlex
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine started to peel where it makes contact with the table it's resting on. Because of that, I wondered if it wasn't a very robust finish that reacts to furniture polish or something.
     

Share This Page

Loading...