1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AV8 OSD troubles

Discussion in 'Arcam Owners' Forum' started by will1066, Dec 10, 2004.

1. will1066

will1066

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +9
    Hi, U.S.-based newbie here.

I feel my AV8 may have a glitch with the OSD. When I power off by pushing out the front power button and later power on by pushing the button back in, the OSD will either display nonsense or not come on at all while the menu setup index shows up fine on the front panel display. My video connections are rudimentary: S-video from a Denon 2900 to the AV8, and another S-video from the AV8's monitor out to an old Sony tube TV. Most recently, I got it the OSD working again with a rapid power off and on. I pushed the power button out and back in quickly, and the AV8 initialised with the OSD on (as opposed to going back into Standby the other times I pushed the power button back in). Since it works fine now, I have not tried to duplicate that quick power off/on move for risk of it not working again. I emailed Tech Support (support@arcam.co.uk) a few days ago but received no reply, which admittedly has got me a bit down about their support. I came from a Rotel (if you look at my username), which always answered my emails in a timely fashion.

I was wondering if anyone has come across this AV8 issue or know about it second or third hand.

Thanks for any help or thoughts.

Other than that, glad to be aboard. I also own a CD23 and had a CD92 before that.

2. sticker

sticker
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Will,
    Welcome to the forum

I've never come acroos this behaviour in my AV8 and it doesn't sound good. Do you know what software version you are using? An update may be needed.