1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AV32R, Upgrade Dacs or New Amp?

Discussion in 'TAG McLaren Audio Owners' Forum' started by thomasholmlund, Sep 8, 2005.

  1. thomasholmlund

    thomasholmlund
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes... what shall I do, what do you recomend.
    My AV32R is on service and it might be an idea to upgrade the dacs and to prologic 2, it's only the dacs and not the bypass.
    I also have an oportunity to buy a TAG Amp 100x5r for £1070, a fair price here in sweden, there is never one for sale here either :( .

    What do you think about the 100x5r is it a good amp or are there others who are better at the same price?
    I've got the Rotel RB985 mkI now.

    Regards, Thomas
     
  2. Steve.EX

    Steve.EX
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Messages:
    3,096
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +69
    That is, a fair price.
    It is somewhat different from the (ever popular) Rotel.
     
  3. edward

    edward
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    858
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +26
    What prices are you talking about for the upgrade of the AV32R? Have they given you a price for upgrading to a DP model? That would be interesting for several reasons.
     
  4. thomasholmlund

    thomasholmlund
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have not got any prices IAG, the prices I now is from the store that I bought my AV32R and for upgrading only the dacs is around £360 + prologic II £110.
    DP = Dual Processor and is it the dualshark with timerec?
    A new AV32R with that will cost around £3600... :rolleyes: and it's not directly my price situation.
    What upgrade price do you think I could get, are they giving special prices now or what :) ?

    /Thomas
     
  5. edward

    edward
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    858
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +26
    I asked because if they were giving prices for the upgrade to DP, it suggests they've got these systems in the wings somewhere.

    Yes, the DP is the twin Sharc model that runs TMREQ. There are plenty of amps out there that will do the job (you haven't said what speakers you are running) but there is really only one AV32R DP (with its variants) and they're worth the money, especially the 7.1 systems with the action switches - even if you're only going for 5.1.

    The big question really is whether, based on what we've seen of their behavior, the new Audiolab is the kind of company you want to do business with. If you don't mind waiting for months to have kit back if it has a problem, go ahead and by the TAG amp.
    By contrast my Bryston came with a 20 year warranty, sounds indistinguishable from the TAG and the they respond in less than a fortnight.
     
  6. thomasholmlund

    thomasholmlund
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the speakers Dali evidence 470 and i'm quite pleased with them but an upgrade i the future may not be impossible.
    My AV32R has been on service about 2month now I sent it though during the holiday and it was some waiting time to :(. But it should be near now, cause I starting to get abstinence :eek:
    What could a DP upgrade cost do you have any price?
     
  7. edward

    edward
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    858
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +26
    I don't know the speaker but I've heard the Helicons at an exhibition and liked them (they look beautiful too - as an M&K owner, that clearly is not a major factor for me). I suspect your speakers are not going to be your weakest point.

    I'm not sure that Audiolab can offer upgrades to DP. If you can find out about it and let us know here, it should raise a few eyebrows.
     
  8. thomasholmlund

    thomasholmlund
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Would it be worth the money to upgrade only the dacs for £360?
    How much will a new poweramplifier do? Any suggestion about another amps that whould be a good upgrade for less money then the 500x5r?
     
  9. AMCross

    AMCross
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,658
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston,Scotland
    Ratings:
    +187
    A little while ago i was told

    Dual upgrade is £1650 + £199 if your unit is older than 18 months
     
  10. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +225
    Well I've decided to bite the bullet and upgrade my (still boxed) DP to 7.1 :thumbsup: When I get it back I will then have my DAB module swapped from my bp192 into the DP. Then at last I can get to grips with TMREQ and John's excellent work :eek:

    What to do with my bp 192 is the next issue for me......
     
  11. OnTheFly

    OnTheFly
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    2,872
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Everywhere
    Ratings:
    +105
    Kenny Glasgow

    I'm tempted to get my DP EX'd, it's just the down time that deters me. I've been quoted 4 weeks. Could you post when yours is returned?
    Thanks.
     
  12. alexs2

    alexs2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    13,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,674
    You have a BP or a DP?.....if it's a DP,you should have DTS-ES and Dolby EX as standard.
     
  13. AMCross

    AMCross
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,658
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston,Scotland
    Ratings:
    +187
    alexs2

    I think they mean the 7.1 EX hardware upgrade with trigger switches also
     
  14. alexs2

    alexs2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    13,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,674
    Thanks AMCross.....just wondered given that OTF has sold a BP/192 and also returned the one in another thread on here,and I wasnt sure which model he currently had.
     
  15. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +225
    On The Fly

    Will do. I wont be sending it for a couple of weeks though. I too was quoted 4 weeks but it's not such an issue for me as I still have my bp192 :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...