1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AV32R connection to Subwoofer

Discussion in 'TAG McLaren Audio Owners' Forum' started by liamjf, Dec 23, 2004.

  1. liamjf

    liamjf
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    274
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    LONDON
    Ratings:
    +8
    Hello, I have at the moment a marantz Av amp and stereo amp as per signature. My REL sub is connected line level to my AV amp therefore no crossover filtering and also via hi level to my stereo amp speaker outputs so I can prceisely set the x over points, gain etc. for better audiophile sound. Now upgrading tyo the AV32R-bp192 which obviously has different x overs etc for each type of input (cd, dvd etc.) so should I just connect via low level from the TAG (and perhaps upgrade the cable) and set evrything up in the TAGs menu?
    Any help? Thanks, Liam.
     
  2. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +225
    Liam

    Connect with phono to your AV32R and let it do all the work :thumbsup:

    Try out the different speaker sizes and cut-off points to see which you prefer :smashin:
     
  3. lowrider

    lowrider
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Riga, Latvia
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ditto... This way you have less distortion because you spare your front channels, powers and speakers, from playing the lowest frequencies...

    Thats what I do too...
     
  4. alexs2

    alexs2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    13,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,674
    Same for mine,especially when using the valve amps and Quad ESLs...really does give the amps a lot of extra headroom,by not reproducing all the bass,and spares the ESLs also.
     
  5. liamjf

    liamjf
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    274
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    LONDON
    Ratings:
    +8
    Just got the sub (in the middle of wholesale revamp) so can you recommend a sub cable (3-5m) that's not too expensive that will do the job. Oh and I'll need a co-ax digi ic for the cd transport as well (LAT, Apogee or stick with qedp75?)

    Liam.
     
  6. lowrider

    lowrider
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Riga, Latvia
    Ratings:
    +1
    What I use after many tests, including way more expensive cables, is:

    Audioquest G-Snake for the subwoofer
    Apogee WideEye digital coax

    Both reasonably priced, and much better than everything else tested...
     
  7. liamjf

    liamjf
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    274
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    LONDON
    Ratings:
    +8
    Thanks for that, what sort of price are we talking and where can I get them from?

    Liam.
     
  8. Polecatpete

    Polecatpete
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Ok, just to be different, mines connected using low and high level input..... I found it worked a bit better for me doing this. Think I'm out voted though! :D
     
  9. lowrider

    lowrider
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Riga, Latvia
    Ratings:
    +1
    Apogee 1 meter and Audioquest G-Snake 3 meters, each +- 60 euros...

    This prices from a store in Portugal, should be cheaper in the UK or on the net... :rolleyes:
     
  10. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +225
    Liam

    I have a QED cable and works fine. However you should check out the cables section "above" and have a look at the cable service offered by Mark Grant.

    He can supply you with a very high quality lead using the same cable and plugs used by TAG. A 1m length will set you back £25 and £41 for 5m :thumbsup:
     
  11. Thunder

    Thunder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Ratings:
    +14
    Get the Mark Grant Belden off this forum, they dont get any better :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...