1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AV32R bp-192 Fault

Discussion in 'TAG McLaren Audio Owners' Forum' started by Burgy100, Sep 12, 2004.

  1. Burgy100

    Burgy100
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    137
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, England
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi There,

    have just experienced a problem with my processor!! Switched it off using the on/off button and when swithing itself on the unit will not power up. The self test message comes on for a nano second then nothing :mad:

    Any people out there got any ideas or am I calling the helpdesk tomorrow for a return

    Please help
     
  2. Burgy100

    Burgy100
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    137
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, England
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi all,

    Nobody out there to give me advice. Still will not boot up!!

    Steve :mad:
     
  3. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +225
    Burgy

    Try taking the power lead out and wait a few seconds before powering up. Also if there is a lose connection (the power inlet on the AV32 has only 2 "prongs") it will sort that out.
     
  4. Burgy100

    Burgy100
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    137
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, England
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi Kenny,

    Many thanks for the reply Kenny for the reply tried that, also have tried swapping fuses over from the back of the AV32,from the plug itself and different cables from the TAG equipment I have got. Managed to get in contact with Sevenoaks, Peterborough this afternoon they may be able to sort it out one way or the other. They even indicated if I loose my precious bit of kit!! they will be able to sort me out short term. I reckon its going back to IAG

    Steve
     
  5. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    Just to state the bleeding obvious, your unit isn't just going into standby as it remembers the last state it was in when you turned the power off.....I assume you have waggled the volume knob half a turn to see if it wakes up?

    I have always been a bit concerned about TAG's stance about leaving the unit permenently in standby (to keep the DAC's warm!) and wondered just what happens if it is allowed to completely cool and its effect on the solder joints etc...... I must say that our only failure of a TAG unit was years ago when we used to turn it off at the power switch, never had a problem since now we leave it in standby (read a couple of watts less than full on.....). Just an observation really......
    I will be curious as to how you get on with IAG service though.
     
  6. Burgy100

    Burgy100
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    137
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, England
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi Graham,

    Cannot remember turning the volume knob half a turn to see if it is a sleep, although I do not think it is that problem.

    Sequence of events are as follows:
    1. Heard humming noise from one of my TAG units
    2. Switched off units one by one
    3. Established noise was eminating from DVD
    4. Powered units back up again with on/off buttons
    5. Noticed that AV would not power up, apart from a flash of self test writing

    and thats it, as I say I have checked fuses and swapped power cables round without success

    I think my AV is dead in the water

    Steve
     
  7. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    Lets hope its just a case of :rtfm: I'd unplug everything else from the power supply assuming you have a distribution board for the kit as the AV might be shutting down due to a mains fault......Something does sound broken though...... :(
     
  8. Burgy100

    Burgy100
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    137
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, England
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks Graham,

    Will speak to Sevenoaks this morning about the problem and keep you posted, but I fear the worst

    Steve
     
  9. Burgy100

    Burgy100
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    137
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, England
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi,

    Processor is back after 8 weeks!!. Once again all is now fine. Again it would appear to be a power supply problem, i.e the power rail that switched it on/off was not funtioning properly. Many Thanks to Barry and Phil for keeping me well informed and Many Thanks to Brian and Steve at Sevenoaks, Peterboro for loaning me some equipment.
    :clap: :clap: :clap:
     

Share This Page

Loading...