1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AV32R 5.1 SP upgrade to BP192 spec!

Discussion in 'TAG McLaren Audio Owners' Forum' started by box986, Jul 25, 2004.

  1. box986

    box986
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Messages:
    72
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Gloucs.
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi, i have recently purchased an AV32R 5.1 SP running 3.75 software, which i am very pleased with. My question is, would it be worthwhile upgrading the DACS to BP192 spec, and if so what benefits would this bring me.

    Also anybody have the AC3 RF demodulator board fitted, for laserdisc playback, I understand this costs about £200, is it worth it or should I try and source an external box, like a secondhand Meridian 519 for example.

    Thanks in Advance....

    Rich... :thumbsup:
     
  2. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +225
    Rich

    The 192 and bypass upgrade is a must. The sound improves by a huge margin, especially when playing CDs
     
  3. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,702
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +607
    Problem is price to upgrade, how much is it ??

    I just sold my 5.1sp for £695 and I see that 192 units are getting around £300-500 more depending what spec they are.
    So rather than getting it upgraded it would probably be better to sell yours and buy another unit.
     
  4. box986

    box986
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Messages:
    72
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Gloucs.
    Ratings:
    +1
    Not really interested in the 5.1 bypass, I have a denon 2200 which is SACD and DVDA ready, but I'm not impressed with the amount of software available.
    So it would be just the 192 DAC upgrade, any idea how much this costs???

    I dont really want to sell mine and buy another, the AV32 5.1 I bought was brand new and only cost me £850, which I thought was a steal!!!

    Rich...
     
  5. AMCross

    AMCross
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,555
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston,Scotland
    Ratings:
    +165
    192 Dac upgrade is £395.00 excluding shipping


    BUT bear in mind the £199.00 charge for the unit being over 18 Month old :mad:
     
  6. CogPaul

    CogPaul
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does the 5.1 bypass also give you the ability to use two of the inputs as a stereo bypass mode?

    Paul
     
  7. roversd1

    roversd1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes...

    3 separate stereo inputs
     
  8. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +118
    Ageism on Hifi products whatever next... whats the official word as to the extra £200 charge ?

    Has anyone got a full list of upgrades available for the AV32R 5.1 SP with prices ? Does it get cheaper if you do the upgrades at the same time...

    Also looking to see how good the TCM + sub is for TV etc before shelling out for the DP2 unlock..

    Cheers

    Matt
     
  9. box986

    box986
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Messages:
    72
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Gloucs.
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for the replies, I will send an email to the IAG help desk for a quote, then take it from there
    Rich...
     

Share This Page

Loading...