1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AV30R in my system!!!!

Discussion in 'TAG McLaren Audio Owners' Forum' started by kraal, Sep 23, 2004.

  1. kraal

    kraal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    96
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi,
    Any ideia how can this processor fit in my system (see my signature), to replace the NAD?
    Opinions about the processor and experiences?
    Thanks,
     
  2. lowrider

    lowrider
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Riga, Latvia
    Ratings:
    +1
    Fit... ;)
     
  3. kraal

    kraal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    96
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks, AMR
    And the AudioShow? I will be there tomorrow.

    And about the AV30R? Nobody say nothing? :mad: :lease:
     
  4. mlinhares

    mlinhares
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +1
    Has I told you, I think Tag and B&W are a "marriage made in heaven". The only problem with the AV30 is that you can not upgrade to DP or 192.
     
  5. Miron

    Miron
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,408
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Ratings:
    +49
    Tag and B&W?
    He's then the first one who managed to connect TAG processor directly to the B&W speakers. And all after your advice ... Miguel , you are going to become a legend :)
     
  6. kraal

    kraal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    96
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +1
    Can't you see the power amp???!!!! Parasound 1205A is a power amp.


    One AV32R with 5.1 bypass cost 2 times than this.
    DP and 192 will be impossible in the near future :(
     
  7. Miron

    Miron
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,408
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Ratings:
    +49
    Nuno, I was supposed to be kidding with Michael, nevermind... nice setup by the way.
     
  8. mlinhares

    mlinhares
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +1
    Very, very, intrigued Miron…

    I don't see your point.

    Is it the amp? I have (will have next week hopefully) a Tag DVD connected to a Tag AV Processor and then to 2 Tag amps straight to B&W speakers.
    Oh! just forgot Graham, also to a Rel Strata V sub :) . [edit. I sold my Strata III to Kraal]

    [edit 2. Hoops Miron! Somehow I didn't saw your previous post, sorry :lease: ]
     
  9. kraal

    kraal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    96
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ok, sorry for my attitude, I dougth that you was joking me. :suicide: :)
     
  10. mlinhares

    mlinhares
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +1
    Miron, it's too hot around here… ;)
    I believe Kraal will be soon one of us.
    May the Tag, ohps, force be with you! :thumbsup:
     
  11. kraal

    kraal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    96
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +1
    Since yesterday, I have a AV30R 7.1 living in my house. :clap: :clap:
    At first impressions it plays very nice, multi channel is in other level.
    2 ch is very good, I can´t imagine what it could do with 192DACs !!!!!
    Today, if I get time, I will continue doing my tests and my settings.
     
  12. lowrider

    lowrider
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Riga, Latvia
    Ratings:
    +1
    Enjoy your TAG... :smashin:

    What happened to your Bryston 3B ST... :rolleyes:
     
  13. kraal

    kraal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    96
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +1
    In this moment is unpluged but I will connect it to the Tag today, to test it and see what will happen.
    With the NAD I only used the Parasound.
     
  14. lowrider

    lowrider
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Riga, Latvia
    Ratings:
    +1
    How do the 2 powers compare in stereo ?
     
  15. kraal

    kraal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    96
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yesterday I have plugged the Bryston and the 2ch is in one step ahead, over the Parasound, much clear and a have a better stage. But the Parasound is a very good amp, even for 2ch. If I thought that I paid the same for both, I have to say that the Parasound is a very good machine.
    For 2ch I'm using the direct+sub and have unplugged the sub's high level. What you (all) think?
    After connected the Tag I had to reduce the sub level, because the bass increased, but more precise.
    I think that by now I don't go to sell the Bryston, like I thought.
    The next setp will be to change the speakers cables, I already have it, but I need banana connectors, probably will buy some WBT 0644.
     
  16. lowrider

    lowrider
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Riga, Latvia
    Ratings:
    +1
    If you use direct + sub you will get bass twice, if I remember well, so you will have to adjust the sub every time you change from DVD to CD, not very convenient... :nono:

    I dont see any advantage using direct as you use TAG´s DACs, just use stereo or DPLII with speakers small, xover 50 or 60hz. If you still want to use direct, use high-level connection to the REL...

    Bryston power goes very well with TAG... :smashin:
     
  17. cbemoore

    cbemoore
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Eastleigh
    Ratings:
    +16
    If you set your speakers to "Large", then direct will send a full range signal to your speakers and nothing to the sub, whereas direct+sub will send everything below your processor's crossover frequency to the sub.

    If you set your speakers to "Small", then direct and direct+sub will do exactly the same thing.

    At least thats how I understand it.....

    Chris
     
  18. Thunder

    Thunder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Ratings:
    +14
    cbemoore is right direct+sub will send anything below the crosover for your main speakers to the sub :thumbsup:
     
  19. Stevesky

    Stevesky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    454
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    I see a bit of processing mode confusion is going on :

    Direct - forces left and right as full range, independent how they are declared in the setup.

    Direct+Sub - Forces left and right as bass limited, independent how they are declared in the setup.

    The high and low pass filters used ensure that there is no duplication of bass from the LR and Sub resulting in excessive bass.
     
  20. lowrider

    lowrider
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Riga, Latvia
    Ratings:
    +1
    My doubt is if the speakers set as large dont get full range with direct+sub...
     
  21. cbemoore

    cbemoore
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Eastleigh
    Ratings:
    +16
    So you're saying that with speakers set to Small, then Direct is handled differently to TMS or Prologic?

    I was going by your earlier answer here:
    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=144725

    To get a definitive answer, is this correct:

    SPEAKERS SET TO LARGE:

    Direct, Prologic, TMS : Full range to speakers, no sub
    Direct+Sub, Prologic+Sub, TMS+Sub : All low frequencies go to sub

    SPEAKERS SET TO SMALL:

    Direct: Full range to speakers, no sub
    Prologic, TMS, Direct+Sub, Prologic+Sub, TMS+Sub : All low frequencies go to sub

    Is this right? Or am I still confused?

    Chris
     
  22. Stevesky

    Stevesky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    454
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    They don't get full range as they are being forced to bass limited, a set of 2nd order high pass filters shoved in the way.

    The golden rule of bass redirection is that each low pass filter (to generate the sub channel) must be complemented with a high pass filter on the original channel to ensure that the acoustical summation of the two gives (near enough) the same inroom level.
     
  23. kraal

    kraal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    96
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +1
    At this moment I have all speakers in small and the xover at 80Hz, bacause the next lower setting is 50Hz.
    I will try others settings later and other modes also. The PLII is very good in the Tag, lots better than the NAD. The TMS5+sub is good.
    The xover freq are 50, 80, 120,... verry limited, in the NAD I had 40, 60, 80, ... not well done like the Tag, but the settings are there.
     
  24. lowrider

    lowrider
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Riga, Latvia
    Ratings:
    +1
    I wont argue with you guys, I cannot test it now, but it makes sence that direct sends full range to the speakers, and direct+sub sends bass to sub leaving the speakers alone, TAG might think differently though... :rolleyes:

    I did prefer 50hz to 80hz with my SF Concertos too, test and see what you prefer, I find that the speakers play 50-80 better than the sub, plus set at 80 I could hear the sub separate...
     
  25. Teejoo

    Teejoo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Messages:
    221
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +3
    I don't think this would work properly, because in the lower freq range both speakers would produce the same signal which can cause starnge behaviour.
     
  26. lowrider

    lowrider
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Riga, Latvia
    Ratings:
    +1
    It would work properly if you wanted the sub to complement the speakers but didn´t have an high-level input on the sub, or an extra set of pre-outs for the sub...
     
  27. kraal

    kraal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    96
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +1
    It is not true, I have regarded now that I can adjust independently the sub for every mode that it is used.
    Now I have the xover in the 50Hz, for test, but I think it is better.
    Other thing, I have put the sub in mode1 (Line), now it is more controlled but more lower. What mode REL's owners use?
     
  28. Stevesky

    Stevesky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    454
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    Sorry to be weaving sub-threads but to replies to Chris's post:

    Assuming this is an SP, not a DP (hairy processing mode and bass management logic was removed in DP and 192R) :

    Direct - forces full range LR

    Direct + sub - forces band limited LR, hence sub active

    TMS, Prologic - obey bass management rules. If LR declared as full range then used as full range. If bass limited then sub would be active

    TMS+Sub, Prologic+Sub - force L,R to small, hence sub active.

    PLII, Neo:6 - obey bass management rules, no forced +Sub modes.

    Disclaimer - not my logic rules, I am however guility for any crazy logic in the DP or 192R!

    Regards

    steve
     
  29. lowrider

    lowrider
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Riga, Latvia
    Ratings:
    +1
    Lucky you, so the AV30R inherited more sofisticated bass management from the DP/AV192R, the standard AV32R couldnt do that... :thumbsup:
     
  30. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    Nuno.

    I'd use the LFE output on the TAG into the low line level input on the REL, forget the settings on the back of the REL as they are bypassed on many models when using low line level input, set the gain knob about 3/4 of the way round anad set the thing up by calibrating it via the TAG and SPL meter, set your cutoff frequency to what you prefer (or use ETF or similar to see where the main fronts roll off!) and sit back and enjoy, frankly using the high level input on an REL are a waste of time when used with a TAG processor as it does a prefectly respectable job of bass management.
     

Share This Page

Loading...