AV30 question

FazerThou

Prominent Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I've been offered an AV30 with 7.1 and bypass ex dem from a dealer. The problem I have is there are so many different options on the TAGs I dont know which are worth having, so all you people in the know like to give me some advice about what questions to ask when I phone them again tomorrow. The dealer is about 2 hours away so I would like any info you can give me before I arrange a demo. My only other option is a Rotel 1068 which is appprox £300 cheaper.

Thanks for reading

Would love to halp but alas... am not able to do so as I have no knowledge of the AV30... perhaps Graham, Steve or even Udo can shed some light on this.

Also, although you are likely asking a somewaht bias group (as we all own TMA/IAG kit), I would doubt that you will be disappointed with the AV30.

Cheers,

Joel

I'd be on the lookout for a AV32R, later model the better (DP is the aim here!), I must admit that the AV30 isn't nearly as good when I had one on loan a while back. You don't say what the price is though which obviously has a bearing on things.....

Lets Start here:

AV30R 5.1 £ 1799

7.1 Option including dd EX and TMS7 £199.99
T2L Sync link if you have the dvd32R DVD32FLR or CDT20R £299
Dab Digital £799.99
Action Switches £149.99

So your ex demo unit should be worth £1799 + £199.00 =£1998

And you could add the dab unit or the Sync link or action switches

Software options are:

HDCD £49.95
DTS ES discrete for the 7.1 Unit such as yours £129.95
Mpeg2 £ 39.95

So ask the dealer what software options are already enabled

Hi,

In terms of hardware options, the only others available for the AV30R (apart from the 7.1 you say it has) were:
DAB radio
Action switches
AC3-RF
Digital retiming & sync module (IMHO this is the one of most importance to find out if fitted or not).

Also, possibly of importance, is to find out if the DTS-ES/Neo:6 & HDCD options have been enabled (software options).