1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Av192r Information Required

Discussion in 'TAG McLaren Audio Owners' Forum' started by Atagie, Mar 8, 2005.

  1. Atagie

    Atagie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    The S.W.
    Ratings:
    +4
    Please,
    could anyone tell me if there were any revisions ,or pitfalls, in the boards of early AV192R. Was it just software upgrades ?. I am pondering on a exdem unit.​

    Brian.
     
  2. lenny

    lenny
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    429
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Paris
    Ratings:
    +6
    I've understood that there might be some issues on DTS decoding mods. You can find more details digging into one of the previous thread of this forum.

    regards,

    Lenny
     
  3. Atagie

    Atagie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    The S.W.
    Ratings:
    +4
    Thanks Lenny,
    I have just read theads on some disc probs. and 4.31 fixes. The 192R e/dems are likely early 03.​
    Anyone know when 192R first in shops?.​
    Brian
     
  4. lenny

    lenny
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    429
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Paris
    Ratings:
    +6
    End 2002 but with not all the options available (e.g.: The video scaler and the RS232/ IR interface...). Usually for demo purposes Tag McLaren shipped fully loaded units.
    Typically you should find AV192R with all the Hw options but the video scaler with prices which can range between 4000£ and 7000£. That's before the HifiBiz "mania" started: I mean that now it might be possible to find better deals...

    Regards,

    Lenny
     
  5. Dr Udo Zucker

    Dr Udo Zucker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    358
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +35
    Hi Brain, there has never been a change to the AV192R's hardware which would make older units less desirable. Of course, the software evolved (but is field upgradable) and some early demo AV192Rs had to come back to the factory to install all interconnect cables (required for future upgrades), making upgrades more difficult for retailers. There has also been an issue with the dual processor card, both in AV32R DP and AV192R, but that was fixed within weeks. Hope this helps...
     
  6. Plump

    Plump
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    636
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    under the bridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    There might be few less desirable AV192R's, namely those with boards originaly upgraded from AV32R.
     
  7. Atagie

    Atagie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    The S.W.
    Ratings:
    +4
    If the RS232/IR TX Controller unit is later added to 192R, with front panel flap already fitted, is it just slotted or soldered in. Can this be easy done by a dealer, or is it best carried out at IAG ?
    Brian
     
  8. Dr Udo Zucker

    Dr Udo Zucker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    358
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +35
    Hi Brian, it is easy to add afterwards. A qualified retailer should be able, however, IAG is always the best solution, in case something goes wrong...
     

Share This Page

Loading...