1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AV-sales have another Sharp...with DVI

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by brotherbear, Aug 25, 2004.

  1. brotherbear

    brotherbear
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just found this set:

    http://www.av-sales.com/html/sharp_lc37gd1e.html

    It has DVI whereas the LC37AD1E doesn't. Looks great too as it's in a fantastic looking finish (I'm getting fed up with silver). Would this set be HD compatible via component and DVI? Does the DVI on this set have HDCP?

    My other concern is that yes, it has DVI which is great but at the expense of a regular PC input. So if I have DVD connected via DVI how would I connect my PC without having to unplug the DVD every time? I suppose I could use S-video as my laptop has S-video out but it won't be as good as regular RGB PC-input. Are there DVI splitter boxes available, you know, like the scart splitter boxes you can get?

    Anyone here had much dealings with AV-sales? I see them advertised here alot. Do they do extended warranties? Do they have a demo room? Anyone out there from AV-sales?

    Cheers.
     
  2. j0nners

    j0nners
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +1
    av-sales generally have an excellent reputation on these forums.
     
  3. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Titanium sets are gorgeous! cant wait to see new 45" have been out for a couple of weeks, there are several 37" units see www.sharp.co.uk there is a monitor and possibly 3 TV versions HV4E, AD1E, GD1E and possibly a black "designer" unit
     
  4. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    My understanding is that the Titanium series all have the G prefix in their model number. I've been supplied by Sharp the following details:

    LC-32GA4E - 32" analogue tuner, side speakers
    LC-32GA3E - 32" Analogue tuner, bottom speakers
    LC-xxGD1E - where xx = 32", 37", 45" digital/analogue tuner, bottom speakers, media box

    Model number coding is, from what I recall, as follows:
    LC-xxGabE
    xx : screen size
    G : titanium range
    a : A = Analogue tuner; D = digital iDTV tuner
    b : Styling option including Even = side speakers; odd = bottom speakers. I think it also differentiates if media box is included (1/2) or not (3/4)
    E : European version

    As far as I am aware, the DVI-I input is HDCP compliant but can't find written proof from Sharp on this. Howver the Sharp brochure states:

    BTW: From what I recall, US equivalent models have HDMI.

    -Ian
     
  5. PUD the Ancient

    PUD the Ancient
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,607
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    notts
    Ratings:
    +151
    The DVI-I input is hdcp compliant, I emailed Sharp and they confirmed it.
     
  6. Ed Selley

    Ed Selley
    AVF Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    10,932
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,301
    There is also a limited edition leather bound version for the rustic among you.
     
  7. Laura

    Laura
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne
    Ratings:
    +24
    Waiting to see what the new 45" set is like, it's pukka 1920x1080, so means I could make a fairly future proof purchase.

    If the price AV-Sales are showing for it sticks (and it's any good) i'll be dropping the cash for one :)
     
  8. Laura

    Laura
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne
    Ratings:
    +24
    Do you mean a DVI switcher rather than a splitter? If so then something like this might be what you're looking for.

    http://www.digitalconnection.com/Products/Video/DS21R.ASP

    Noticed that Joe Fernand's company does them (and splitters too).

    http://www.tmfsolutions.co.uk/homecinema_AVcables_gefen_HDTV_switch.htm
     
  9. brotherbear

    brotherbear
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey...thanks for the help guys...fantastic.

    So DVI switchers are available. Very expensive though. I think I would make do with s-video for my PC for now and then invest in a switcher at a later date.

    This does seem like a fantastic set with the most generous connectivity options I think I've seen. And I really am beginning to be convinced that 42" is just TOO big for me.

    All I need to know now is whether it supports HD. Seems like it might.
     
  10. dubmaster

    dubmaster
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, HDCP is fine, but what about 50 Hz ?
    Previous models were stuck at 60Hz only.
    This set (37") is a candidate for purchase, but only if it does 50 Hz on DVI.

    dubmaster
     
  11. stevebrowne

    stevebrowne
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What price were they quoting - it just says POA now...

    This set is the first that has made me want to move from my Sony 36" CRT to a panel.
     
  12. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    it will start at around £6,500............... ish But wait for more details to flow....
     
  13. Laura

    Laura
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne
    Ratings:
    +24
    They had been originally quoting £4900 or thereabouts. but i guess thats now unlikely.
     
  14. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    well i am not in the loop anymore but last conversation i had with sharp it was £7k ish back in september so as its not out until Noember best to wait till its available.... at £5k it is expensive bt should be worth every penny....
     
  15. stevebrowne

    stevebrowne
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm... I was hoping for it to hit around 4 - 4.5k. I suppose it might after a couple of months, and the pre-order rmarket is filled.
     

Share This Page

Loading...