AV Receiver Recommendations Please Help!

PeterBCN

Standard Member
Hello everybody,

This is my first post as I'm new to you forum community.

It's decision time for me as I'm in the process of restructuring my AV setup in my living room. Right now I have Kef Reference front speakers (201s and 202 center) and a pair of Kef KHT 9000 ACE for surrounds (as they have the same woofers of the reference series)

I use a Thule Audio IA350 integrated to power my speakers. For those not familiar with this amp, it's a good, neutral, high-end stereo-oriented amp that can output 350W in stereo mode and 150W in 5 channel mode.

My problem or (opportunity!) is that I've moved my stereo setup to another room so I have now 2 systems. In my living room I do casual listening and movie watching. I'm at a point, where I value convenience and features over pure stereo sound quality. Although I'm quite happy with the sound of my system, I under-use it because it's quite limited as an AV receiver (no hdmi, no digital inputs, no radio, no decoding, no DSP modes, etc).

Therefore I've chosen to go the receiver route. These are my contenders:

1) Yamaha RX-2700: perfect feature set, decent stereo sound but my dealer tells me that it will probably be a bad match with my speakers as it's on the bright side and tmy kefs, having the super tweeter, need a warmer amp.

2) Marantz 8100: My dealers recommendation for sound quality, although the feature set is much more limited.

3) Denon 4306/7: I understand it's a middle of the road approach between the Yamaha and the Marantz

Any recommendations or anybody who has experience with the Kefs reference and an AV receiver?

Sorry for the long post. In short, what I want is all the new goodies with a respectable stereo sound that can do justice to my speakear package, so I can finally get convenience and forget for a while with the upgrade bug and enjoy the music and movies period! :)