Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

AV Receiver output............

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by lemming, Apr 4, 2003.

  1. lemming

    lemming
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    350
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Garden of England (apparently!)
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have recently purchased a Sony STRDB780 and Mordaunt Short Premiere speaker package from Richer Sounds, I have not used any of this kit yet as I am still decorating the lounge, however, upon reading manuals have noticed the amp output is 100W but speakers are only rated at 75W. I put this query to a Richer Sounds person who advised me this would be ok if I set a speaker switch on the amp to 4 ohms....is this correct?
     
  2. CodeThief

    CodeThief
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    663
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hmm, sounds a bit dodgy to me. I would just use it as it is, should work fine :)

    DISCLAIMER: Ignore me, Im a fool :D

    Dave
     
  3. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,458
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +131
    Why do they do it, those speakers will be fine you have no need to touch that switch unless the speakers are less than 8ohms, and then thats only to save the amp from over heating.He only told you this to make a sale or he don't know his job.
     
  4. james.miller

    james.miller
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +143
    well, Mordaunt's site lists those speakers as 4-8ohms so mabey, just mabey, the guy said to switch the amp to 4ohm because he knew that? just a thought.......
     
  5. dnrc

    dnrc
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2002
    Messages:
    307
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Near Norwich
    Ratings:
    +0
    Seriously mate, ignore the guy, having too much power for your speakers is better than too little, just be careful with volumes (don't turn it up to 11) and you will be fine.
     
  6. lemming

    lemming
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    350
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Garden of England (apparently!)
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanx people, your help is much appreciated.:smashin:
     
  7. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,651
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +302
    I would still set the impedance selector to 4 ohm, for the amps protection.
     
  8. avanzato

    avanzato
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,963
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +82
    I agree with Lynx. I was looking at those speakers a few months ago and at that time they were listed as 4ohm nominal speakers.
    The Switch limits the amount of current that can be drawn by low impedence speakers and protects the amp.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice