AV Receiver or decent stereo amp + HDMI switch?

Locoloic

Novice Member
Hi all,
I'm pretty new to this AV game, but to set the scene, I've recently bought a house and am getting things put in place in the lounge. The lounge itself is long but narrow, and the TV lends itself well to be chimney breast mounted, with a couple of stereo speakers either side on the mantlepiece. I'm not too keen on 5.1 or whatever, and I think the room is too narrow to acommodate it anyway.

So, this means I'm looking for a decent stereo setup, but as I've just given most of my cash to the bank & lawyers, I'm doing so somewhat on a budget.

So, an audiophile friend suggests a 4K HDMI switch with optical out, then a decent stereo only amp (marantz PM-6005) to power a couple of q acoustics 3020's. This is pretty good, but then for similar cash, we have things like the Onkyo TXSR343 which has all the switching built in, can power mini-PCs, has bluetooth, radio, etc. Of course, to be able to have these features, it means things like the amp and PSU of the Onkyo are going to be inferior to the Marantz.

Is there a happy medium that isn't going to break the bank?!

Oh yes, also, with the AV receiver, there is the ability to have a centre speaker. Would this be a good idea to incorporate? I've chased my walls, and am putting in cabling as we speak, so I need to make some decisions! :)

Thanks in advance!

sounddog

One option might be something like Marantz NR1506 (no idea if £350 is "break the bank" for you) ... though the PM6005 plus HDMI switch is likely better sound quality if a little messier.

Locoloic

Novice Member
Ok, that looks like a decent option. Reviews suggest the power output at 50W is a little on the light side, but then the room is pretty small.

So, if I went for it, would it be worth picking up a Q Acoustics centre speaker to go with it? I've heard that movie audio can sound like there's something missing if one isn't connected...