Question AV receiver for monitor audio speakers

meakinsl

Standard Member
Hi,

I am fairly new to all things av and had some great help so far, now looking at next part of a brand new home theatre setup and wandered if making a mistake. Current plan is to have monitor audio silver 200s as front speakers, silver c 150 as centre speaker and use Bronze AMS | Dolby Atmos® Enabled | Monitor Audio as surrounds where red splodges are in diagram below, on a beam that is 2.5m up. as they naturally angle down they should direct sound to the MLP as have no good spot for the surrounds otherwise (seems excellent suggestion from this forum). Was then looking at using some ceiling speakers where the blue splodges were to give me a 5.1.2 sort of setup (the ceiling on the top left slopes so left speaker would be angled at MLP whereas the right one will be straight down). Will also have a subwoofer somewhere on front - probably an SVS model based on suggestions on this forum.

speakers.png

Atmos speaker as surround speaker which will be at rear angling down:

download.jpg

Been looking at the the Sony STR-DN1080 av receiver with following setup:

SonySetup.png

Seems the STR-DN1080 receiver is very good value and gets good reviews but will it do the speakers which cost a bomb justice or should I be looking at a model say from Denon ?

Also in the Sony setup above Atmos not really mentioned, if I play some atmos content with the config set to 5.1.2 will it be using the top speaker as atmos speakers ? Must confess bit confused by difference between this 5.1.2 config and an atmos config and also the ceiling speakers (C265-FX | In-Ceiling Speakers | Monitor Audio) whether they should be in dipole or bipole mode.

Any help/advice greatly appreciated

Lawrence

Lawrence

dion 6

Hi,