1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AV connection problems...

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by mrmark01, Mar 4, 2005.

1. mrmark01

mrmark01

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All,

Complete AV novice here...

I am trying to setup a freeview set top box, a video recorder and a tv.

I have used the adviser on this website, (which is very good by the way) and connected as advised.

To confirm, that's;

1, Main co-ax arial to digi box

2, Co-ax link to video

3, Co-ax link from video to TV

4, Scart lead from digi box to video

5, Scart lead from video to TV

Channel 0 has been tuned in on the TV to the video.

This is the problem;

When everything is powered up, the digi box remote will not work, after selecting the correct AV channel.

I can see the picture, and have sound, but no remote.

If I swap the SCART leads around on the back of the video, the remote starts to work, and I can see the picture, but I loose sound on that AV channel.

Heeeeeelp.....

I have a feeling I am doing something really stupid. But can't see what...

The idea is that I should be able to watch digi TV whilst recording analogue and visa versa.

Has anyone got any ideas

Cheers...

2. mhuk05

mhuk05

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +215
    How about starting from first principles. Connect one thing at a time and check it works. Then add the second device etc.

3. mrmark01

mrmark01

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep...

Connecting digi box directly to the TV via SCART lead and it works fine.

As I mentioned earlier, I can access the video channel either by pressing the AV button on the TV's remote or by pressing channel 0 on the TV's remote.

Is there any difference in the way I access it?

After chatting with someone about the problem, somethignhas come to mind ;)