• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Av cabling and Future Proofing

Mi7OMS

Novice Member
Future proof AV cabling

Hey guys,

Im a newbie, and need help.

I'm doing a full house renovation and want either Virgin or Sky installed in 4 rooms. These rooms will also require to view a feed from a CCTV unit. I also want freeview or freesat as a backup available to 6 rooms which will include the other 4 rooms plus 2 additional ones. Is there a unit i can buy to help do this?

As I am unsure of whether to go for Sky or Virgin I would like to install cabling that would work with both. I have been told that coaxial cable will do the job- but again I'm unsure which exact cable to go for.

This has been an expensive whole house renovation and I'm wanting to try and avoid having to recable etc. anytime soon.

Your ideas/comment would be appreciated.

Thanks

dante01

Distinguished Member
If wanting to distribute an HD video signal from either a SKY or Virgin STB then you'd need to be using their HDMI outputs. If wanting to distribute this throughout your home then you'd need to be looking at HDMI over cat6 and probably an HDMI matrix of some description?

What do you intend doing in relation to either SKY and/or Virgin? Do you intend on having several STBs in various locations or do you intend on having a single STB in a central location outputting a signal to various TVs? Are you wanting to feed the source signal to several boxes or are you wanting to distribute the output of one box to several locations?