1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AV Amps and Clocks!

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Rebel154, Nov 23, 2004.

  1. Rebel154

    Rebel154
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    492
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +19
    Hello,

    Simple question really. Do any AV Amps have a clock display like a VCR? I have only really looked at Denon and none seem to have a clock display (my soon-to-be-replaced AVR-1802 certainly doesn't).

    Just wondering mostly as with the demise of the VCR, I no longer have a clock display in my AV cabinet which means I have to look at the clock on the wall - most annoying.

    Cheers,

    Rebel
     
  2. recruit

    recruit
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good Question? I have not seen an AV amp with a clock display ever i am sure there must be one out there :rolleyes:

    John
     
  3. dicky

    dicky
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    165
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cambs
    Ratings:
    +1

    Blimey life is certainly a struggle, having to turn your head :D

    As to your question, none that I know of.
     
  4. Rebel154

    Rebel154
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    492
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +19
    Could be worse, I might have to lift my arm and look at my watch!! :D

    I thought that might be the case. :(

    Cheers anyway,

    Rebel
     
  5. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    Do the FM stations in the UK broadcast RDS (Radio Data System)? Then just get an AV receiver with RDS tuner.
    Though I guess you need to listen to that station to display the clock ... :clown:
     
  6. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    They do broadcast RDS but AFAIK the only time signal that gets sent is the occasionaly bleep on the hour which sets the clock in car radios. And presenters telling the time of course :)
     
  7. John

    John
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    10,967
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,653
    I just bring up a banner on sky
     
  8. stripe

    stripe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +123
    I just ask the wife :D
     
  9. Paulbmw

    Paulbmw
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey stripe :) i envy you if talking to the wife is "easy" :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
     
  10. say1

    say1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    99
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Rebel

    Get a Grandfather Clock!
    Problem solved.
     

Share This Page

Loading...