AV Amp Explanation

nevets2001uk

Standard Member
I'm a complete newbie to this sort of thing but think I'm on the right track.

We have just purchased our first HD TV (Toshiba 37RV635DB). The sound is not great and we'd also like to have surround for our other devices.

We have a Wii (Component cable on order), Sky+ (SD) via SCART and a upscaling DVD player which supports USB video etc. I have just recieved the HDMI so I can connect the DVD to the TV properly.

The ideal is that we can purchase a surround sound system which can be connected to all of these devices. We've seen some of the 5.1 kits in curry's etc which include a DVD player but I'm not sure these are right for us. For a start we are happy with the DVD we have and I'm not sure how we'd connect the Sky+ audio through the system.

Am I right in thinking we need a AV amp and seperate 5.1 speaker system? If so I'm after some recommendations but since our budget is tight I'm not sure we can even purchase this. The ideal is a complete entry level system for between £200 and £300. We live in a flat and won't expect to go too loud. We might be able to push £400 but no more.

If this is not possible are there any 5.1 home cinema kits out there in our price range which would allow at least the sky audio to be played through the surround?

PSM1

Distinguished Member
You can get the all in one systems that have optical inputs so you could connect the sky+ to it. However, this means you will be paying for a DVD player you do not want or need. It also makes changing or upgrading very difficult.