Autoview on Sky+

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by square-eyes-baz, Dec 27, 2006.

  1. square-eyes-baz

    square-eyes-baz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,606
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +189
    Anyone know why there is no Autoview option on Sky+? Someone told me its because Sky+ records but I may not want to do that . Its just that I found it quite useful on my old Sky box, any ideas?
     
  2. Abbeygoo

    Abbeygoo
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    24,756
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +9,875
    The main reason the Autoview function was available was to assist with recording programmes when you weren't at home - so the VCR / DVD recorder would record the correct channel you could programme it to turn over at the right time.

    As Sky+ addresses that issue by being able to record without all that fuss - the autoview function becomes redundant. :thumbsup:
     
  3. alternate

    alternate
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also, Sky have no interest in helping anyone use a sky+ box without a recording sub. Not designed for that and they lose the fee.
     
  4. square-eyes-baz

    square-eyes-baz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,606
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +189
    Yeah , I can understand that. Its just that ,say I wanted to watch something later, dont need to record it, and I forget to switch it over it would put it on for me. I know it has a reminder feature but if I was in the house not paying attention (i.e trying to sort the kids out or something) then it would be useful. Ive already missed some shows due to not noticing the reminder on screen. I know ,its gonna come back round to me using the record button:D
     
  5. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975
    Yeah if you fancy something on at a later date just press "R", you'll either have it recorded to disk or you'll remember and watch live although why you would want to watch anything live with a DVR is beyond me.
    Well news & weather perhaps:)
     
  6. square-eyes-baz

    square-eyes-baz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,606
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +189
    Er no?.2 over active full on kids more like- and a demanding wife!:D ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...