1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Automatic widescreen switching on DLP RPTVs

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by Tarbat, Jun 21, 2005.

  1. Tarbat

    Tarbat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Easter Ross, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +252
    Quick question to all you DLP owners out there. Do all DLP RPTVs from Sagem, Samsung, Toshiba, etc do widescreen switching correctly using the Pin 8 signal on SCART? Which of DLP TVs will allow me to setup the picture format so that it AUTOMATICALLY switches to:
    - 16:9 for SD anamorphic material.
    - 16:9 zoomed in for SD 16:9 letterboxed material in a 4:3 frame (i.e. cut-off the black bars).
    - A stretched/justified mode for SD 4:3 material, where the centre of the picture is stretched less than the edges.

    All preferably using an RGB signal from my Sky+ box.
     
  2. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,547
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,504
    With the Optoma set you have to do it manually.
     
  3. Mark_a

    Mark_a
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,870
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +485
    With my Tosh I've found that it works fine the first time, so anything that is detected via pin 8 works as expected, but the moment I manually choose something else then that's it. It assumes I don't want auto-switching anymore and won't work again till I turn the TV off and back on again, or change AV inputs. Odd, especially as my old Pioneer RPTV used to work fine if I changed channels, even if I'd mucked about with the ratio settings.

    Regards

    Mark
     
  4. Tarbat

    Tarbat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Easter Ross, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +252
    This is one of the reasons I asked this question. My Dad has a Toshiba CRT TV, and widescreen switching seems very unreliable on that set - I wonder if this is a Toshiba "feature" in general. By contrast, my Panasonic CRT TV does widescreen switching perfectly.

    Anyone know how well the Samsungs and Sagems do widescreen switching?
     
  5. Tarbat

    Tarbat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Easter Ross, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +252
    Thanks Razor and Mark_a - at least I know how the Optoma and Toshiba DLP sets handle widescreen.

    Are there no Sagem and Samsung owners on this forum who can help with information on how these sets handle automatic widescreen switching. It's one of the (many!) factors that will influence my buying decision.
     
  6. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,547
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,504

    cjgpers :hiya:

    Try downloading the relevant manual's and see what it says there. :thumbsup:
     
  7. Tarbat

    Tarbat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Easter Ross, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +252
    Thanks Razor. Yes, already done that for the Samsung (well the US manuals, no manuals on the UK site), but it just tells you what modes you can select - 4:3 normal, 16:9 wide, panorama, zoom1, zoom 2. It doesn't say whether it automatically responds to the pin 8 signal, and whether you can choose to automatically have anamorphic displayed as 16:9 and 4:3 in panorama, and letterboxed 4:3 in zoom, etc. without pressing the P-Mode button on the remote.

    I was hoping that there would be some Sagem and Samsung owners around who could tell me how this operates in real-life, but apparently not.

    My Panny CRT is setup to display:
    16:9 Anamorphic in anamorphic
    4:3 in justified stretch
    4:3 letterbox in zoom, where it detects the black bars top and bottom and automatically zooms in to fill the screen without stretching.

    I'm looking for a DLP RPTV that can do that if possible.
     
  8. neilmcl

    neilmcl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +290
  9. dunsters

    dunsters
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    303
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    Feedback as requested ;) ..... Not being technically expert I offer my observations.:rolleyes: .... It seems to me that the Sagem works automatically based on the input setting (which I guess it is getting from pin 8 (?) (4:3 TV results in side bars, widescreen can fill the screen (mostly) or letterbox some DVDs at the top and bottom) and then you can adjust scroll through the remote options for the view to stretch, widescreen, cinema view, subtitles etc as you wish.:thumbsup:

    Cheers
     
  10. Tarbat

    Tarbat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Easter Ross, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +252
    dunsters, that helps a lot, many thanks.

    Just need someone with a Samsung now - any takers?
     

Share This Page

Loading...