1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Auto Widescreen switching?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by cbemoore, Jun 18, 2003.

  1. cbemoore

    cbemoore
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Eastleigh
    Ratings:
    +16
    My widescreen TV happily switches automatically between 16:9 and 4:3 modes when connected to my DTT receiver.

    But when I'm using my DVD player, the TV stays in 4:3 mode even when its playing a widescreen DVD. I have to manually change the aspect ratio on the TV to make it display correctly. I thought it was a problem with my DVD player, so I borrowed a friend's DVD player to test. Unfortunately that has exactly the same problem.

    I've tested using RGB Scart (to test Scart Pin 8 WSS), and via S-Video (to test Line 23 WSS).

    So is this a problem with the DVD players I've tested? Or do DVD players simply not support auto widescreen switching?

    Chris
     
  2. stubags

    stubags
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    They do support auto widescreen switching.

    There are several things that I can think of. Firstly, I would think of your scart lead but that's probably not the culprit. Secondly, is your dvd player setup to output to a widescreen tv in its options as otherwise it will not switch. Thirdly, is your tv receptive to switching on every AV input. Mine definitely isn't receptive to it except for on AV1 and AV2, AV3 is deaf to this switching. Lastly it will depend on the dvd that you're playing, but these days most of them switch to widescreen. Even more lastly, your tv has to be in a mode that allows it to switch, if you've got it in a particular aspect mode, not automatic, then it might not switch.

    Hope this helps.
     
  3. cbemoore

    cbemoore
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Eastleigh
    Ratings:
    +16
    I'm using the same scart as I use with my DTT box, so I'm fairly sure that's not the problem.

    Yes, I've set the DVD to 16:9

    I'm using AV1, which switches fine with my DTT box.

    Could be!! I tried it with 2 DVDs, but I'll try a few more tonight.

    Yes, its definitely in automatic mode.

    Thanks for your help - looks like I need to try it with some more DVDs!

    Chris
     
  4. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,698
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +606
    I havent bought any region 2 discs for years but from memory I think that region 2 do switch but region 1 doesnt.

    could be talking ****e, but that rings a bell.
     
  5. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes you're talking ****e! :)

    If you have a multi-region DVD player but using SCART with widescreen capability (cable, DVD player & TV) then the Region/format is irreverent.
     
  6. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,698
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +606
    None of my region 1 discs switch the tv to 16:9 mode, not with a pioneer 737 or a panasonic, via scart or s-video.

    I thought that the disc has to have wss encoded into it to tell it to switch ????
     
  7. SOUNDSTYLE

    SOUNDSTYLE
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,194
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +34
    You don't have an older Philips tv do you?
    I had the same problem where widescreen dvds would not switch to 'wide' automatically, even though terrestrial C4 would.

    Got a Sony tv now, and have no problems at all.
     
  8. cbemoore

    cbemoore
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Eastleigh
    Ratings:
    +16
    Yes, I do actually have an older Philips TV!! (32PW6332). I guess that must be the problem!

    I think both the DTT box and analogue Ch4 use Line 23 WSS, which works fine. Maybe DVD players use Scart pin 8 WSS, and that's not supported by the Philips TV?

    Anyway, its nice to know its not a problem with my DVD player. Thanks!

    :clap:
     
  9. Kevo

    Kevo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    5,354
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +144
    No you're not talking ****e!

    None of my R1 WS DVDs auto switch either and that's using RGB SCART on ext1 (AV1).
     
  10. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,698
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +606

    ahh nice one, I was trying to rack my brains thinking what region 2 disc I had to try and couldn't think of one.

    there were virtually no 16:9 tv sets out apart form the pioneer elite ranges when the us dvd players were first released.

    back then we could laugh at their inferior system, oooh how times change :(
     
  11. cybersoga

    cybersoga
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    I have a Sony DVD player and a Sony TV. All my anamorphic widescreen DVDs, whether they are R1 or R2, automaticly switch the TV to WIDE mode. 4:3 DVD's such as TV shows put the TV into 4:3 mode or SMART mode depending what I last left it on. Letterbox widescreen dvd's (non anamorphic) don't auto switch (The TV sees them as 4:3), I have to manually set the TV to ZOOM mode.

    There are 2 ways that TVs can be told to switch aspect ratio, the first is by applying different voltages on pin 8 of the scart lead, and the other, newer and more preferable way is by reading line 23 WSS http://www.intersil.com/data/an/an9716.pdf which is part of the picture. Most wide-screen sources such as STBs and DVD players do not produce this signal, but Sony kit does and so does my Netgem I-Player set top box connected via component.
     
  12. Matt F

    Matt F
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2000
    Messages:
    900
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Chester, UK
    Ratings:
    +4
    Well, I have the Philips 32PW6322 (the NICAM only 32") and it auto widescreen switches on DVD's and, get this, this is even just using an s-video - SCART lead (i.e. s-video out on DVD player to EXT-2 YC SCART on the TV).

    Matt.
     
  13. cybersoga

    cybersoga
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    Both your TV and DVD player must be Line 23 WSS complient then.
     
  14. cbemoore

    cbemoore
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Eastleigh
    Ratings:
    +16
    Which confirms what I suspected.

    I reckon my Philips TV only supports line 23 WSS, and not Pin 8 scart switching. Whereas the DVD is the other way around.

    Chris
     
  15. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,698
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +606
    my tv is a philips and although it doesnt switch with region 1 dvds it does support wss via pin 8, as I have made loads of cables up for various consoles and always add voltage to pin 8 so it switches to 16:9 mode.
     
  16. AOD

    AOD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Messages:
    707
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4
    Bit of a pain isn't it, to have to "match" your TV and DVD player?

    My DVD player (a Toshiba 100 or 110, can't recall which) will aspect switch my 32" Sony, and this is via S-Video routed thru my Tag. Guess I'm lucky in that respect.

    Of course being connected in this way does mean that the TV won't switch sources automatically, but I can at least map an AV input to a channel number so when I want to watch a DVD I can directly select the "channel" or include it in a macro of some sort.
     
  17. puddleduck

    puddleduck
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,814
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lake District, near as dammit
    Ratings:
    +50
    With my previous Pioneer 737, if the TV was in 4:3 mode, and I played a 16:9 disk, it didn't auto-switch.

    Auto-switching works as expected on my Philips 963SA.
     

Share This Page

Loading...