1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Auto Pixel Shift

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by reddevil63, Apr 19, 2005.

  1. reddevil63

    reddevil63
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    5,525
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Disney Florida's Twinned Town
    Ratings:
    +851
    Does anyone know what this means or does in laymans terms?
     
  2. fatherted

    fatherted
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    87
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    The whole picture moves left/ right/ up/ down (i'm not sure) by 1 pixel every so often. It's hard to detect (yes I have sat 6" from screen trying to see it happen).

    By doing this the 'Nick Junior' logo will not burn a hole in one place on your plasma.....it will ruin a whole strip 6" wide * 2" high......lol

    Seriously, you get the idea - by shifting the picture a fraction every so often any fixed graphic will hopefully not get chance to damage the screen.

    I would enable this feature in your menu.
     
  3. reddevil63

    reddevil63
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    5,525
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Disney Florida's Twinned Town
    Ratings:
    +851
    Think its automatically on.....plasma is the Samsung PS42V4 and according to some sites it has auto pixel shift tho the Samsung website or the instruction manual says nothing about it.

    If I put the Sky TV guide on-screen you can see the screen moving ever so slightly but normal TV you see nothing....so thinking I do have it.
     
  4. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,550
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +471
    sounds like it.....good screen save feature..but to my mind should be optional
     
  5. reddevil63

    reddevil63
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    5,525
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Disney Florida's Twinned Town
    Ratings:
    +851
    I have checked the instruction manual again and nothing mentioned about it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...