1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Auto on/off Sub = Annoying

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by iwatkins, Feb 12, 2003.

  1. iwatkins

    iwatkins
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All,

    My sub powers itself off after a few minutes if it doesn't receive something from the LFE pre-out from my receiver. I understand this is normal and many subs do this.

    However, when it does this it does so with an audible click. OK, this is fairly quiet, but still annoying.

    Much more annoying is the fact that there seems to be a delay between when the LFE signal picks up again and when the sub starts to amplify it and make it heard/felt.

    I.e. you have a quiet scene for 5 minutes, say followed by an explosion/shoot out. I miss the first few seconds of this action as the sub has shutdown. It does restart OK and you get the rolling thunder of the explosion but kind of jolts to get this halfway through the action.

    Is there a simple way to force the auto circuitry to stay switched on ? For instance, if I pulled the amp off the back of the sub, would there be something easily identifiable I could remove or a wire I could cut etc.

    Thanks in advance for any advice.

    Whoops, sub is an Eltax Atomic 10, tis poor but does the duties for now.

    Cheers

    Ian
     
  2. Apocalypse

    Apocalypse
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    840
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you use a Y splitter and use both L & R jacks the sub will detect a lower signal than normal, that's about all you can do really. Panic Room is the sort of film where this can happen and like you say it is annoying :rolleyes:
     
  3. Andywilliams

    Andywilliams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,078
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    notts.
    Ratings:
    +63
    Hi iwatkins
    cant you leave your sub turned on 24/7 ive always left my subs on all the time except when iam on my jollys. problem solved.
    Gonzo.:)
     
  4. iwatkins

    iwatkins
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Apocalypse,
    Yes, I've already done that, i.e. both sub pre-outs on the amp into a Y splitter (or joiner in this case) and then into the sub. Didn't really help that much. I think the problem is that the sub once it switches to standby requires quite a large LFE signal to wake up again. I.e. small rumbles are not loud enough or long enough to get the sub to wake up.

    gonzo,
    Yes, the sub is switched on all the time. I.e. the power switch is set to on at all times. It is just that the amp on the sub itself switches itself into standby when it doesn't recieve a large enough LFE signal after a few minutes.

    Thanks for the ideas though people.

    Cheers

    Ian
     
  5. cybersoga

    cybersoga
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    So, your sub goes to sleep when there's no LFE... I suppose it doesn't have a switch to enable/disable auto off? if it doesn't, your options are a) a different sub, b) modifying the amp in the sub, unless somone who actually has one of these subs can offer a solution. Can you post a photograph of the back of the sub and of the amp internals?
     
  6. iwatkins

    iwatkins
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    cybersoga,
    No, there isn't an "auto defeat", which is a shame.

    I'll pop the amp off and take a look inside/take piccies.

    A different sub is on the cards, but I'm saving to get a good one.

    Cheers

    Ian
     
  7. gmt steve

    gmt steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +6
    "A different sub is on the cards, but I'm saving to get a good one."

    My Kef TDM45 cost £800 and has this feature, drives me nuts.
     
  8. baileych

    baileych
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    169
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    This is really obvious and you've probably done it already but just in case you haven't try this to minimise the problem:

    In you receiver set-up, set the channel level on the sub channel to the mazimum (+10dB or whatever).

    Then turn down the volume on the sub itself to match the overall level it was at originally.

    This way it shouldn't turn off quite so easily.

    Charles.
     
  9. iwatkins

    iwatkins
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Charles ,
    Bit of lateral thinking there, I like it. You say obvious, but I hadn't actually thought of that. :smashin:

    I'll actually give it a go as I have the gain on the sub at about 8 (out of 10) and the sub level on the receiver at 0db.

    So, I guess if I turn the level up on the receiver to +10db (the max) and then turn the gain on the sub down to get the same volume it should work better.

    I'll give it a go and report back. Thanks.

    cybersoga
    Took the amp off the sub and there is more to the amp than I thought. Loads of wires, couple of transformers, a few circuit boards etc. However a lot of the circuity is encased in potting compound or rubber foam so not easy to trace anything through. I won't bother taking pictures at the moment until I'm tried plan A above.

    Cheers

    Ian
     
  10. iwatkins

    iwatkins
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Right, bit early to tell, but it does seem to have made a difference. :clap:

    I'll listen to a few more DVDs first, but we may well have cracked it.

    For info. I have the sub level on the receiver set to +10dB and the gain on the sub back panel down to 4.5.

    Cheers

    Ian
     
  11. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    set speakers to small? Sub will stay on regardless of lfe channel being present.
     
  12. Apocalypse

    Apocalypse
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    840
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not with films like Panic Room, even the HGS-18 turned off during this film with the speakers set to small.................I've since turned the sub on permanently and use the remote to place it in standby when not in use.
     
  13. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    set speakers to small? Sub will stay on regardless of lfe channel being present.

    Won't help unless you assume there is always some bass present in those channels or you set the x-over frequency very high.
    However I am with Charles, increase the level at the AV amp/receiver and in return lower at the sub - this will usually do the trick.
     
  14. jim.rae

    jim.rae
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did exactly the same thing yesterday when testing an Eltax sub. (which didn't go off at any time.)

    However more to the point, when I put my regular Sony sub back, it sounded twice as good...

    So the high amp out setting and low sub volume is performing better that the factory presets - but why should I be surprised at that!

    And it never sleeps...
     
  15. StJonno

    StJonno
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The on\off switch on my A10 is in fact a 3 way switch - on\off\auto, when switched to auto it goes to sleep if there is no LFE signal, but it doesnt if its switched to on
     

Share This Page

Loading...