1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Auto on/off on Velo VX10

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by SlimJ, Apr 12, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SlimJ

    SlimJ
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't know if any of you guys have heard of this, but I seem to have a problem with the auto on/off on the Velo VX10, when the sub is on and then the amp is switched on, playing a dvd the sub doesn't seem to respond (the light stays orange), but if i take the cable out and plug back in its fine until no signal goes to the sub (say I mute for a few minutes), the sub stays off and doesn't come back on unless I remove the cable and place back in again, rather annoying! I can watch a whole movie ok with no probs, just silly having to re-attach cable when turning system on :(

    Have checked settings on the amp and can see no reason for it not too be working (the amp is a Marantz SR7300)

    Have any of you heard of this, what do you suggest?

    Cheers
    James
     
  2. uncle eric

    uncle eric
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi James,
    You will recieve a brand new replacement on Tuesday and your current unit will be picked up and returned to me for testing. I'll let you know what I find.

    We've not had any problems out of the 30 or so VX-10's sold in the UK by the Velodyne distributers so far. There are also 12 or so sold on these forums again with no problems whatsoever.
    Strange one :(

    Best Wishes
    Eric
     
  3. MuFu

    MuFu
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    NW2, London
    Ratings:
    +4
    See it's crappy service like this that gives Eric such a bad reputation. ;) :D

    MuFu.
     
  4. Adrenochrome

    Adrenochrome
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    8,761
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Babel Sensurround
    Ratings:
    +207
    i also have the orange light staying on.

    i thought you could switch the auto sensing thingy off but maybe i'm wrong

    Tom Barr.
     
  5. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,326
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +129
    Hello i would say that it would be better with an override switch.I found that for mormal listening it just doesn't turn on until unless the volume is high and then turned back down but then goes off again .Its i bit better now i use a splitter and turned the sub volume up full on the amp and the subs volume down.I'm sure the others have the same thing late night listening with the kids in bed,it just dunt work.A great sub is being let down by a little thing like this eric its not very sensitive to a low input can anything other than what i have done be done.
     
  6. uncle eric

    uncle eric
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I will look into this and do some extensive testing on one of the units I have here and come back to you. If a splitter helps to overcome the sensitivity issue, I'll send out one each free of charge to all who have bought the VX-10.
    Thanks for the feedback
     
  7. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,326
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +129
    Eric done some testing myself, got up to -47 on amp 60hz tone with 1 lead could easly hear this on the fronts and the sub didn't turn on.Same setting with lash up splitter i've been using and it came on,so using a splitter does help.Going to do some more testing and will report back.
    Oh and this was with sub out at 0db turning this up does help and i've not had a problem with dvds just the tv.I'll be back!!
     
  8. uncle eric

    uncle eric
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Bob
     
  9. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,326
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +129
    Ok i'm back the splitter does work -60 on amp +10sub out, thats what settings i've been using(sub out that is).Lead straight into sub no joy splitter in line it comes on,thats quite sensitive but thats at +10 on the sub outlet.Ok now the real world watching eastenders the music at the start doesn't activate the sub so iwould say that its more sensitive to the type of testing ive been doing(continuous tone).You can tell the difference when the sub is on when the music at the start comes on so it should be on and not sat quiet in the corner.Another thing is that when watching tv not all channels and programs have a lot of bass output so this is another factor to consider guys.

    Iam in no way slagging this sub off i think its great i'm just posting my findings to help the others out.

    If your giving out freebies eric i'll have one:D
     
  10. SlimJ

    SlimJ
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

    Thanks for your response Eric, have sent a PM to you.

    Seems I have stirred up a few thoughts from others on the forum with the VX10, glad in someways its not just me!! you all have prompted me to make some changes to the settings on the amp (adjust the SW output on amp to +10, and turn sub volume on sub down), that seems to make the sub turn on! Seems like there is a little sensitivity issue with the auto detection.

    Not tried a splitter cable yet, may have to give it a go. See how I get on with these new settings!

    Thanks for your help!
    James
     
  11. uncle eric

    uncle eric
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've had a good few hours with the VX-10 earlier and basically did what I've suggested to folks in the past using Auto/On switching.
    As well as altering amp sub level, I connected a splitter which increased the sensitivity level by a fair margin.

    Basically, the problem is now a non issue.

    Thanks for your input everyone.

    James, thanks for your PM and I'll be sending you a splitter as promised first thing Monday.

    I will also be sending a splitter to all who have bought the VX-10 (free of charge) and will be including one FOC with all future orders of VX-10.

    A quote from the the Velodyne website,
    FAQ/tips:
    Q. How do I hook up Velodyne subwoofers to my single (mono) sub out jack?
    A.The signal sensitivity of the auto on/off circuit can be altered by the input hookup. If you use both inputs (connected by a "Y" cable or splitter cable) the unit will see greater signal at the inputs and turn on at a lower signal level. With only one input connected the unit will require greater signal levels to turn on automatically.
     
  12. Adrenochrome

    Adrenochrome
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    8,761
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Babel Sensurround
    Ratings:
    +207
    good news on the splitter eric:smashin: thank you

    one question though how do you set the sub to +10??

    Tom Barr.
     
  13. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,326
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +129
    Whats your amp tom?In mine its in the level menu for all the other speakers.Mine works fine on these settings but you could probbally get away with less output depending on the amp.
     
  14. uncle eric

    uncle eric
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Bob

    Tom,
    Just a matter of experimentation really. In general, you would balance out the volume between the amp's output and the subs own volume control. If you lean towards giving your sub more signal output via your amp/reciever, the sub's auto sensing circuit will have more to "see".
    Using a splitter, would make the subs auto switching circuit even more sensitive to the LFE signal which is ideal.

    As mentioned, I'm sending out these splitters to everyone on Monday via first class post so you should have them Tuesday/Wednesday :smashin:
     
  15. Hunterm8

    Hunterm8
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    115
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +0
    Now thats what i call after sales service!!!

    cheers Eric:smashin:
     
  16. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,326
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +129
    Thanks eric send me a splitter please so i can chuck the bodge up in the bin:smashin:
     
  17. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,326
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +129
    Eric i think your a lovely bloke and i'm not even drunk!:D
     
  18. uncle eric

    uncle eric
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Of course Bob. Consider it done :smashin:
     
  19. uncle eric

    uncle eric
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    :blush: :eek: :D Thank you sir
     
  20. Adrenochrome

    Adrenochrome
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    8,761
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Babel Sensurround
    Ratings:
    +207
    hi bob

    my amp is a yamaha rxv630rds (my first one hence the stupidity:confused: )

    regards

    Tom Barr.
     
  21. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,326
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +129
    Hi tom don't know that amp too well but i'm sure that with the amount of people that have them someone will tell you how to do it.
     
  22. Nobber22

    Nobber22
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,977
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +109
    I just want to check which mode on your amp you are using when watching telly? - if it is PLII, you should be aware that PLII has no .1 channel and so the sub will remain silent. Doesn't matter how loud you turn up your kit.

    GREAT service otherwise from Eric in this regard. Top man!
     
  23. HotblackDesiato

    HotblackDesiato
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +230
    Maybe i've always set-up incorrectly but i use PLII to watch TV and my CHT-15 definitely works in this mode...shouldn't the sub still receive any bass below the threshold?
     
  24. Nobber22

    Nobber22
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,977
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +109
    Hmmm....perhaps I'm talking crap here.:blush: I should have said PLII has no dedicated sub channel like DD. Of course the sub should work Nobber you twit; otherwise PLII with music using sub/sats would be all treble and no bass.

    All: please ignore my silly ramblings in this regard. :blush:
     
  25. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +933
    If your speaker settings are all small and all bass to sub you´ll get the bass info below the amp cutoff frequency of the speakers sent to the sub.

    Same if you have fronts set to large, others to small, bass to both (or LFE&MAIN).

    Setting all speakers to large and using the sub for .1 LFE only, it´s unlikely you´ll have any sub output when using PL2. Unless the amp/receiver specifically has a mode to compensate this.
     
  26. HotblackDesiato

    HotblackDesiato
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +230
    Phew...that's pretty much as i understood it too.
     
  27. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,326
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +129
    To be honest i don't use pl2 for watching tv unless its a film i use one of the ex modes,all speakers set to small all bass sent to sub.
     
  28. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,326
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +129
    It does now at-58db, normally watch that at -50db;)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Loading...