• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Auto ISO on D200

py6km

Prominent Member
Can someone explain to me what this is, and why it's good please :confused:

I'm being a complete noob - I googled an article, but it still makes virtually no sense to me.

PaulBoy

Established Member
Can someone explain to me what this is, and why it's good please :confused:

I'm being a complete noob - I googled an article, but it still makes virtually no sense to me.

As I understood it if you set Auto ISO to ON the D200 will always adjust the ISO for you automatically so that in poor lighting conditions it will increase the ISO to whatever you have told it is your desired upper limit (1600 or whatever) so that you always get an image albeit (if the ISO is very high) a noisy one!
Ken Rockwell swears by Auto ISO (do a search on his web site) KR can talk sense or total bollards so take his ideas with a pinch of salt ;)
HTH - Paul

philaitman

Established Member
Think of it like this.
Your shooting in varying light conditions from fairly bright to fairly dark. Your dark shots would require a shutter speed too slow to handhold so you could up the ISO to get a faster shutter speed. Problem is you keep forgetting to lower it so you get noisy shots in the brighter conditions DAMN :eek:
Turn on Auto ISO, say you want it to kick in at 1/60th and allow it to go all the way to 1600.
When it gets darker and the shutter speed drops below 1/60th the camera will up the ISO by 1/3rd of a stop to get you back to 1/60th. It gets even darker the camera will up the ISO a bit more so on and so forth.
You go back into daylight bam your ISO drops back to the base level again :thumbsup:
It's a great and useful feature. Noise can be dealt with in PP camera shake ruins shots full stop.

Tobers

Prominent Member