Auto Clock Setting on Panasonic DMR-ES20

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by yabadaba, Oct 30, 2005.

  1. yabadaba

    yabadaba
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +3
    I was pretty surprised to come downstairs this morning and find that the clock on my newest bit of electrical equipment hadn't automatically updated itself in sync with the switch to daylight saving time. Even my 10 year old Aiwa VCR had managed that task :rolleyes: !

    A quick check in the menu and 'auto' clock setting was selected. I even hit 'enter' whilst on this screen and it performed an auto clock set, only to leave the time 1 hour ahead of what it should be. The manual states, "don't forget to change summer time and winter time", but it doesn't say how to do that. Is there a menu selection for that somewhere? Got it to auto set in the end, but only via the 'auto-setup restart' route. Hmmm..
     
  2. sjw

    sjw
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +175
    If it'l like the EH60D (mine still hasn't changed..) I THINK they get the time from Teletext. (BBC). And that still is an hour out.... :mad:
     
  3. IanUK

    IanUK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    same here, EH60d on auto briefly flashes to the correct time then goes forward an hour :(

    My videos also do the same, if I manually change them, they turn themselves back to the old time..ho hum
     
  4. lurcher

    lurcher
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    4,216
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Stalybridge
    Ratings:
    +221
    The only item of equipment in the house to auto change correctly was a Palm PDA , everything else ( and I"ve got a lot ) was manually changed.
    I was also suprised Panasonic DVDR didn"t auto change.
     
  5. etaf

    etaf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,013
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +63
    same here my ES20 hasnt changed - only 10 weeks old
    My FVRT200 hasnt changed also 10 weeks old
    But my 4 year old video is fine
     
  6. HHGTTG

    HHGTTG
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    868
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    South London
    Ratings:
    +65
    My new Pioneer 530H didn't change either, despite (I know) had been set for 'Auto adjust'. I went into the Initial set up menu and confirmed this and found, today, that only CH4 would update the time - it had originally been set to a BBC channel.

    Apparently someone on another forum has been told this morning that BBC engineers are aware of a fault and are attending to this.

    Also found that neither my VCR or Matsui DTR1 STB had updated to Winter time settings either!

    All now, except the STB are showing the correct time.
     
  7. yabadaba

    yabadaba
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +3
    Well, I said that 'auto setup restart' did the trick, but the time has now reverted back to being 1 hour ahead of the correct time, presumably because the auto-time thing has checked the time and..err..'corrected' it!
     
  8. Stuart P

    Stuart P
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,115
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +172
    same here on 2 panasonics eh50. the sony freeview box is out too, as is the digital text on bbc1 :thumbsup:...............all good :rotfl:
     
  9. IanUK

    IanUK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    yep, manually changing does no good, interestingly the auto time on my Panny E60 briefly shows the correct time then reverts to the wrong time.

    Looks like a screw up somewhere...
     
  10. redsox_mark

    redsox_mark
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bath, England
    Ratings:
    +620
    Looks like the BBC didn't change their clocks... I had same problem, neither my VCR or my XS32 changed. I changed the channel to use for the auto-clock from BBC1 to C4, and they immediately changed.

    Mark
     
  11. Rojo Habe

    Rojo Habe
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Ditto here for my Sony VCR, but my spanking new RDR-HXD710 doesn't give me the option to change the source channel :(. Now we know Freeview gets its clock from the BBC, then. What's worse, I can't set the clock manually on the 710. Book says you can but it's greyed out in the setup menu.
     
  12. IanUK

    IanUK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same here, my E60 doesn't allow me to change the time setting channel, so the guide is useless for programming until they fix it :(

    If the BBC really do know about this why haven't they fixed it yet, its been a few hours now ?

    Can it be that difficult to change the clock on teletext ?
     
  13. JH4

    JH4
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,419
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +261
    Yeh, and the times of these posts are wrong too ! It aint 12.29 yet !
    They all ought to use the Rugby clock, as should all watches imo. You go into a watch shop and not one is showing the correct time, apart from the few radio controlled ones - but people still buy them !
     
  14. Tuddy

    Tuddy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Bury St Edmunds
    Ratings:
    +39
    2 Panny VCRs in the house and neither changed, good job I could change them manualy
     
  15. dheth1tc

    dheth1tc
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dito, my Panasonic DRMEH60 is not playing ball, I assume it is because of the problems at the BEEB. Is that why the times on the inbuilt freeview wrong as well?

    I have resorted to setting time manually and using videoplus
    regards

    David H
     
  16. davee b

    davee b
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2001
    Messages:
    284
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    leeds
    Ratings:
    +8
    Same story here, an 8 year old panny vcr has changed but everything else refuses to accept that it isnt BST any more, grrrr :mad:
     
  17. ROYOLD

    ROYOLD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,898
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Royton, Oldham. Lancs.
    Ratings:
    +296
    ....But your recordings should still be OK. On My Digifusion PVR the EPG is listing all the programmes as still on BST but selecting record from the EPG is still recording OK.
     
  18. LCDC

    LCDC
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    95
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Lancs.
    Ratings:
    +0
    It looks like somebody at the BBC has finally woken up!

    My Panasonic VCR has finally set itself to the right time (it was still on auto time setting). I'll be able to switch my EH60D back to auto setting now :).

    Edit - No I won't :confused:.

    Just put the EH60D onto auto and it's still an hour ahead :nono:.
     
  19. IanUK

    IanUK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not here, still wrong on analogue and digital.
     
  20. LCDC

    LCDC
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    95
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Lancs.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes just checked :thumbsdow, the VCR seems to be ok now though :cool:.
     
  21. ROYOLD

    ROYOLD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,898
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Royton, Oldham. Lancs.
    Ratings:
    +296
    Presumably when this forum also reverts to GMT on the posting times we shall know it has been fixed.
     
  22. IanUK

    IanUK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm seeing the correct time on here....
     
  23. KDH

    KDH
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    My Philips DVDR75 managed to record MOTD at 7.35am using PDC and had updated the clock as well. Yes I was surprised it managed it too!! But this would tend to dispell the myth that the Beeb were at fault
     
  24. dheth1tc

    dheth1tc
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello again,

    Just autosetup time on my EH60, time still wrong, what is going on?

    cheers

    David
     
  25. IanUK

    IanUK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Beeb have admitted they are at fault, both on teletext and by email responses to those that have queried the problem.

    I'd guess that those who are not affected either have: auto off/are autoing on a non BBC channel/are in an area not affected.

    There is definately a fault.
     
  26. LCDC

    LCDC
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    95
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Lancs.
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think it's only changed recently. Message #17 was shown as being posted at 03:27 PM when I came on, but the times are all correct now.
     
  27. IanUK

    IanUK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    ah ok :)

    Its doing my head in all this time change business :(
     
  28. sean5302

    sean5302
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,425
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +82
    All a bit stupid, isn't it?

    We're in Europe, aren't we?

    We drive on the left, we use Pounds Sterling, pints, miles, BST to help the farmers.

    What bloody farmers?

    Set the clocks to GMT and let's have done with another throwback piece of rubbish.
     
  29. etaf

    etaf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,013
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +63
    well my PVR FVRT200 shows the correct time now happened aroud 15:30 today - but the ES20 is still wrong - so dont understand why
    as the teletext site is now correct
     
  30. Rojo Habe

    Rojo Habe
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Clocks go back in every country on Earth - just not all on the same day.
     

Share This Page

Loading...