UPDATED. Audyssey Time Alignment Correction in Denon and Marantz AVR's and AVP's. Plus info about Loudness Management Settings.

Why is it more work, let alone costing more money? You are actually saving a little (minute) processing power by skipping conversion when doing calibration.
I mean in development and testing, not runtime.
Runtime work for receiver is insignificant.

I mean in development and testing, not runtime.
Runtime work for receiver is insignificant.

Thank you for the clarification, we can agree to disagree on this. I am not a professional programmer but I think the so called 2 logic path you referred to may amount to 1 or two short line of additional codes, and it is a one time effort for a permanent gain in efficiency/processing power saving, though the difference will tiny/minute/negligible.

Anyway, I reopen my AskAudyssey ticket, hopefully this time they will not refer me to D+M, as I specifically ask my question on MultEQ X. It is a $200 deal, one that I really want to know as much as possible about how it does things differently/better, than the $20 app. No more D+M AV gear at the moment but I may go back to it in the future and MultEQ X looks very promising, and it seems possible that if they do well enough, we can expect them to further improve the actual filter creation algorithm for better results, not just on the interface flexibility/convenience features.

As a professional programmer there is no gain in efficiency worth doing that way. You're talking about a few multiplies per channel on startup/changing settings. It's completely insignificant for hardware/cpu.

Even if it did do that, why didn't the Denon engineer say so, that it was not a problem since the delay was used directly if you don't change distances? They didn't. They said the speed of sound constant was good enough used in the calculation.