• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Question Audiolab 8000S & P. Now What?

-DT-

Established Member
Hi

I have an Audiolab 8000S/P pair (from the 80s) which I have been using for many years now. A while ago it started acting up and would click (like when you change input on the input selectors) randomly.

I took it for a repair to a reputable guy I know and he said there were some dry joints and components that should be replaced which was expected given its age. He also said that removing the poweramp part of the S (given I use the P anyway) could also help with the issue and he would give me a discount off the work for it anyway. He was very up front about the costs and gave me the option to sell it to him or return it to me if I feel the repair was not economical etc. I went ahead with the repair. It actually did sound better afterwards too!

Now it has started doing the same thing again (clicking and cutting out in the same way) but I notice it is worse if I change the input by hand rather than using the remote, so suspect it is related to the input selector itself. So I am moving house soon so this is an opportune time to sell it and then re purchase after I move, so some questions:

1) Is the input selector likely to be an easy fix? Is it even likely to be the actual issue?

2) Would you just sell it and buy something else? If so:
- What is it worth and where is best to sell?
- What would you replace it with? Budget is probably £500 plus whatever I get for the Audiolabs
I have a pair of JMLab Focal 816S. I like the pairing with the Audiolab- quite neutral and balanced.

Thanks!

arb70sok

Established Member
How long since the repair was it before it started playing up again?